Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Troubles beneath the surface

by archaeometrician - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Go deeper undersea, fight monsters with harpoons, use your sonar to guide find gold, crystals and maybe you will be the one finding the old treasure chest !

Drill resources and bring them to the underwater base to exhange them for oxygen, batteries and harpoons.

WASD : Movement
Left click or F : Fire harpoons
Right click : Drag camera
Mousewheel : Zoom in/out
E : Drill crystals
R : Use sonar to see behind the darkness
O: Toggle sound
P: Lock mouse cursor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#258Audio3.25
#339Theme3.51
#347Mood3.23
#384Graphics3.42
#439Overall3.30
#555Fun3.02
#660Innovation2.91
#691Humor2.25

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

Great game. I enjoyed the fact that there were so many different things to do and keep track of... gives the game depth and replay value. Great music for the environment too.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

Very well done for 48 hours. Pretty fun

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Great work! I could play this for hours. Atmospheric, good gameplay. With a bit of polish, I'd be willing to pay for it. Keep it up!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Liked the art style, the 3D and 2D elements together made for a good effect. But fell into the trap of enjoying pootling around through the depths and took my eye off the oxygen levels. Gah!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

I've seen several games involving drill machines, but this is the first submarine one. I definitely like the combination, especially with the style of graphics and good audio backing it up. You made a lot of progress, but like someone else said, with a bit of polish this could be pretty cool. Good work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Wow! Very awesome! Great job. Would be cool if the nearest port showed up on your compass.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33am

Incredibly well done! It looks great, the sound is perfect and fits the games, and it also has enough content. Awesome job!

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Very nice game, well done.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

It's fun. it could be a bit more polished but the juice is definitely there. most of everything, there's a really nice atmosphere.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Excellent mood. Really liked the moment where you had to surface to recharge air.
I would just make the camera more over the shoulder.

Zunemi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Art assets seems to be missing?

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:34pm

As soon as I opened up the WebPlayer and got into the level I knew it was going to be great and it was. I love the uniqueness because personally i've never played a game like this.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Wow, you really make an atmosphere of deep ocean. Nice art, mixed with audio -> great mood.

fingerspit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Loved the music, but i found the game too complex for my tastes. Anyway, the art is really great.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Very fun game. Oxygen usage is too fast, but is very atmospheric and somewhat unique.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Wow, amazing work! I really like the visual style and the music. Gameplay is fun but maybe a little too slow paced...

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great game! Enjoyed just driving around, controls were really nice. Sound and art were good as well. Overall one of my favourites so far!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

What kind of submarine has to go above water to get air every 5 minutes? :P
I like this. Id have the feeling it tries to be a lot of things at the same time, which does make it feel a bit "cluttered". Maybe it would have been better to remove one or two features and focus on the rest, imo.
But all in all this is pretty fun! And quite impressive given the time span :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29am

Awesome game, the camera felt a little bit off at times but it was pretty damn fun, amazing you got this done in such a quick span of time!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

Was entertaining, great visuals. Great work!

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

The idea of the game is good but I got bored playing the game very fast

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

Pretty impressive 3D graphics. I like the music too. Having to surface for air seemed a little unnecessary, but pretty fun overall.

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

I played Cure the Infected last time. Nice to see your work again. I must say I'm impressed by the amount of content and the atmosphere on this one. The moment I surfaced from an underwater ravine and saw a little town in the distance I had to recheck this was a 48 comp submission. I'll come back again after rating some others to play some more, lots of fun.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:56am

Nice game! That's a lot of content packed into 48 hours. Nice hook for future work too...

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:59am

Very entertaining.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

Really impressive 3d world!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

I love the arcadey feel this gives, the camera position feels awkward but that's exactly what makes it work. Great mood and good music, love it!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great Fun! Great Work! Great stuff

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Wel done game! I Like it.

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Visually very impresive for a compo entry, it reminded me of Darwinia. I thought the gameplay was simple, but apart from that good job!

coquinounet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice but you must work graphics :)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Cool, very well done for such a short time!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Excellently done. It was a little difficult to judge where the harpoons were going, but the extra bubble dots showing the path helped a lot. Would be neat to see this run on the Oculus Rift to give it that extra dimension.

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice! Love the feeling of depth when looking down at from the surface. I think there might be a bug with selling crystals? I end up with only $5 after selling any amount of them.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Very very well done. It did feel abit tooo slow for me, but the whole perpective was interesting. Cool graphics too. :) Thanks for this game.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Impressive amount of content for 48 hours. The ambiance is just perfect but I think the slow controls take the fun away...

Jamcount says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17pm

That was fun, thank you for creating an experience.

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Really nice graphics and audio (especially that creepy tune at the end), though the controls were a bit difficult to work with on my laptop. I would've liked the enemies to have been a bit more threatening, but overall I had a good time with this. Never realized you could surface for air since I used pickups and ports to restock. Also didn't realize I had limited ammo until I'd burned through all of my harpoons within five seconds of starting the game. :P

May 1, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Thank you everyone for your comments. It's so appreciated to have feedback ! I'm working on a new version of the game that will be more challenging, a more fast paced game. Thank you again for your feedback and bugs reporting, you are amazing guys !

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Fun little game. Maybe make the vertical exploration better with upgrades to the hull to withstand higher pressures. Maybe add rival subs or dangerous sharks as well.

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I found the camera and aiming controls to be a bit unorthodox, but nothing game breaking thankfully! Great low poly graphics!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:16pm

quite enjoyed it .. music/gfx were great :)

thaaks says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Very good game with a lot of stuff to do! Has potential for a bigger game ;-)

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Great job!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:17am

This one has a lot of potential. A few thoughts:

- Going up to the surface for air takes a long time and it's pretty boring - there's a lot of empty space near the surface. Air bubbles or something similar would work better.
- Visualize the different stats (air, battery, harpoon, etc.). Doesn't need to be anything flashy, but it's much easier to keep track of.
- More audio feedback. When I collect a crystal, I should know it!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:06am

dat sonar ping! ouch! I found the controls a bit unwieldy, felt like I went upwards quite slow, ended up dying from lack of oxygen pretty early on. The music was pretty decent though and I thought the graphics were neat (albeit simplistic)

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Very good game, cool audio and nice graphics, but... is that really needed right button to move camera?

Tuism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:50am

Pretty good one, nicely rounded with lots and lots of features, though overall it felt unfocused and not quite interesting enough to keep my attention.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:04pm

It's a neat environment. I like the fog color approximating the depth. Just add bubbles to round it out.

Gameplay-wise, a little more direction would help. I didn't really know what I needed gold and crystals for... to collect more gold and crystals? Sea creatures didn't interfere enough to even shoot them.

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Nice art style, very atmospheric. Nice audio!

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very complex, complete game, nice graphic style.

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:56am

Nice gameplay and audio. Impressive work for 48h, well done!

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:18am

One of my favorite entries I've rated - I liked the art style - a mix of 3D and 2D was interesting, and there was a number of cool mechanics and things to keep track of. Great entry!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:24am

really nice gfx!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]