Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Where Gods Sleep

by Lissar - Jam Entry

Exploration game created in a day and a half because I abandoned my first project half way through the jam!

Created on Construct 2.

Sounds from Sound Jay except for Earthquake sound via Soundbible.com and Mike Koenig.

Notes: Yes, finding your way around can be a bit confusing. Especially since I did not have time to make sure you appear in the correct section of a room based on where you had come from originally. Sorry for that! I may fix this at another time after the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#34Mood(Jam)4.13
#72Graphics(Jam)4.29
#228Theme(Jam)3.45
#268Innovation(Jam)3.25
#309Audio(Jam)3.19
#339Overall(Jam)3.27
#629Fun(Jam)2.40
#646Humor(Jam)1.65

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

This is strange and confusing and beautiful. I read your note about the player appearing in the wrong spot after I played — honestly, it added to the surreal atmosphere. I didn't know where I was going, why I was here... Nice work. :)

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

Very interesting atmosphere. Looks beautiful.

SHAME says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great atmosphere! High votes for you!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Really confusing, but incredibly atmospheric. I loved the art, even though the walk animation is rather creepy.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40am

I really like the graphics man! But I didn't get it at all haha, It's a shame u abandoned it, it looks very promising

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

By the way, the web version didn't work correctly here, I had to download it.

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

I loved the art, the music, and the ending of this game. Quite a beautiful work.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26am

Awesome visuals! The audio set a great mood, good job!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Not entirely sure what to do, but the atmosphere is nice and the art style is lovely.

Wertle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30am

Great interpretation of theme, and the concept is very nice if not a little rough in execution. The mood works with the weird aesthetic. I did run into a bug where I walked past a door off screen, then couldn't get my character back or do anything.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:36am

That was enjoyable to play. It's difficult to figure out how to get around, but the visuals are very varied and interesting. For some reason the down key wouldn't work correctly in the ending room for a long time.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37am

so incredibly pretty and mysterious! it's fantastic.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

The exploring in this game is some of the most rewarding exploring I've seen. It felt cool just to play around with the mechanics, and never did it feel like there was hand holding or even a glimmer of guidance. Despite this, it was still intuitive which is very hard to pull off. Well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

This game freaked me out. And that is a good thing.

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

It looks beautiful and I applaud for the atmosphere! The design is confusing at some times, but that's actually not a bad thing in this kind of a game. You are talented.:)

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34am

Great arts and atmosphere !

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:34pm

The atmosphere and graphical style is wicked.
But a bit hard to play maybe...

Good way to use the theme!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Looks eery and good, but i could not get anywhere.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

awesome graphics, great job

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I think a sense of space is pretty important for exploration games, and the way the player sort of teleports to unobservable anchor points defeats my spatial awareness.

friken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56pm

very nice art style. anything to do after getting to the tree that just says click?

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I like surreal and psychedelic games. Only complain is about moving -- it's truly confusing.

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

Want to play this again and again. Love it!

cageinabird says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:31am

The way sound is used is interesting, although needs to be less abrupt when you're switching between rooms. The surreal aesthetic style complements the gameplay too. Overall, some pretty cool ideas here. Good job!

May 4, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Great art....but quite hard to figure out what to do.

tchem says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:51pm

The artwork is fantastic... nice inspiration

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:50pm

An awesome abstract puzzler. Nice!

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

Beautiful game!

Anoarith says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Awesome art and gameplay :D ! It's just too bad there isn't any music

Striwx says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Graphics are beautiful ! The mood will be better with more sound and audio !!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]