Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Music Box (Voxel horror)

by Glockenspiel - Jam Entry

A fps horror hexagon voxel game. Mystery lies ahead but all that is know is that you must find the music box. Please don't play in the web player, i can't disable the cursor and its really annoying

Controls:
Shift : sprint
E : Interact
WASD : move
Mouse : aim

The file is big so you might be better off downloading it for a better experience and more reliable frame rate.

Note: The voxels are hexagon shaped rather than cubes, I think it looks really cool but it also made it harder to make it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Mood(Jam)4.07
#106Audio(Jam)3.71
#161Overall(Jam)3.54
#359Theme(Jam)3.18
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#425Graphics(Jam)3.25
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice atmosphere, i really like the ambient music and dark setting. Only the controls are a bit shaky (my mouse sensitivity was all cranked up somehow).
Well done :)

v3games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Cool graphics/ambience.

I got launched through the ceiling when running through a door, then fell off the map.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Awesome entry! The first time the jump scare made me laugh to be honest, but I was far more careful once I realized they took hp! Great job setting the mood. The audio really added a lot.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Not locking the cursor key means that the game is not very playable on multiscreen machine.

Interesting idea about the hexagons and overall you got some good mood there. I spent some time walking among the corridors and died at the hands of the walls sticking hands after I picked the second key. A bit boring in the end

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36am

Interesting atmosphere, but gameplay is a little tedious. Running around corridors with the same texture can get dull. Still, nice idea and good game. Also great sound effects.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Pretty good FPS feel and sound - but the environments need some variation, and an automap would have been nice! Also you should lock the mouse cursor when clicking or you will get issues with people clicking outside the Unity web player.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Well-crafted mood. Great ambience and sound effects. Could have done with some textural variation, though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Pretty fun, audio was pretty good :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice 3D game dude!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

First scare made me jump, after that they just started to get annoying. I like the hexy voxels, gutsy to go after that and they turned out looking really cool.

Graphics would have been much better if you had been more consistent - the basic tiles were blocky and pixelated, but then the hands where smooth and cell shaded? Etc.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Cool game, very effective jumpscares! :) Sound was also great, but gameplay could do with some variation. All in all the creepy mood really captures the player...

Gallefray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

It was pretty cool, although next time you need to grab input, my mouse was flying all over the place D:
Also the mouse sensitivity is set waaaaaay too high D:

Also, also, what's the first song that plays? I'm pretty sure I recognise it frim somewhere

May 1, 2014 @ 9:55pm

The hexagonal voxels were really cool, and the sound effects really set the mood, with some more work this would make a great game!

gwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

wow it realy got me I was so shocked that after a lot of nothing the monster attacked me and I died :) but very atmospheric

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:46am

Pretty cool, loved the ambience, and I admit you got me good at one point. Jumped out of my seat ^^ I needed that. There were a few glitches, such as the looping door animations and clipping sounds, but otherwise good work. Could have used a flashlight and a map.

Brick says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Good atmosphere. The scares could have been better.

JordanFitz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:46am

Really cool game! The first jump scare actually scared me!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]