Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the monsters surface

by aldian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Its currently 00:36 here and im am so tired haha. So this is my third Ludum Dare Entry!!! obviously this is a vast improvement from the others that i have done.

Any Bugs or Glitches feel free to mention in the comments and i will try to fix asap.

Things that went well:
Art
Guns
Sound

Things that didnt go well:
bugs
me falling asleep twice
no variety in guns or enemys

The problem i had this time was "time" haha, the problem was i fell asleep both nights losing precious hours. as well as having to go away saturday. As soon as time started slipping away i had to cut out content and try to get something playable out. the end objective was to have something playable no matter what, which im happy to say i managed to do. I really enjoyed this LD and positive feedback/criticism is a great help to me!

Thanks

Harry
twitter: @Harry_Aldian

Shoutout:

@bleaque - For keeping me entertained on Saturday and Saturday night. Cheers Robyn :))
[EDIT] 28/04/14
Bug Fixes:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#990Mood2.47
#1019Fun2.44
#1042Theme2.50
#1103Graphics2.27
#1161Overall2.44
#1229Innovation1.88
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Doesn't work: Failed to download data file. Please vote for my game.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I accidentally jumped out of the map :D
One Tip: Place the Info-Signs behind the player, so that they don't hide the player.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Got stuck after going through the teleporter. :(

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

@Agreon Sorted now haha
@Maek Web or Windows?

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

@okeedokeben will check now

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

@okeedokeben No error for me, im confused....

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

This felt distinctly reminiscent of the scene inside Mr. Slave's rectum in The Stick of Truth.

It took far too much to kill each creature; killing them was such a grind. The music and sound effects were good, though.

Guybrusch says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Last part 100/50 health, and endless jumps possible nice sounds using W to jump is confusing me. Was fun even with one Type of enemy.

okeyboy99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Those monsters sure had a lot of health, struggled with only being able to shoot horizontally so constantly having to take dmg to get any shots to land.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I was unable to play this game, the website just says download failed.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Pretty decent physics, this could turn into a pretty sweet full game.

VictorDoval says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:55am

Nice hand-draw maps, maybe a little too hard. Well done!! :D

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:22am

Really like the music!

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Second to last part was pretty hard (had to try it three times or so), but in the last level (the heart) I just stood on the first platform and spammed spacebar, killing the enemies before they even entered the screen >:). My hand hurts from all that spamming though.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:52pm

"invalid data file"
"not a unit web player file"

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]