Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine Simulator

by Johan Eklund - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Submarine Simulator is a hyper-realistic game about squids who are secretly plotting to take over the earth. And for some reason there are also aliens.

Can you defeat the giant spaceship and save humankind from the evil squids?

Recommended is the windows executable in fullscreen, using WASD for movement and space for shooting, but you can configure things as you like.

This is my second entry in a Ludum Dare compo. This one ended up being much better from a technical standpoint, but neither was very original. Next compo I'll try to work on that :)

Tools used:
Unity 3D
Blender
Gimp
TexturePacker
Reaper with Kontakt5 and Massive as instruments
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Humor3.11
#394Audio3.00
#473Theme3.35
#535Fun3.04
#717Overall3.00
#796Mood2.72
#1122Graphics2.22
#1237Innovation1.83
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

ceosol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Neat. I love how the sub tilts when you go up and down. The enemies look more like they were made for a deep space kind of theme, though.

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Simple and quite fun!

Johan Eklund says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35pm

@ceosol: hehe yea, I wanted to do something that just rotated rather than moved like the squids (much easier to animate) but I didnt want to make more submarines as they would be to similair to the player sub, so it ended up being UFOs :P

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Haha I love those squids are amazing! Fun game! :)

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Haha, I don't see many LD jams that have boss fights. Also, I like that everything had some animation. The sub tilting was cool, but too choppy (if it's simple movement, you can usually get away with tweens, rather than having to code the movement). Other than that, good job :)

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

was fun :)
getting attacked by underwater flying saucers and eyed squids..

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I had to check out the game that shared it's name with mine. Pretty fun, and I love the title animation. Wish I'd though to use Blender's ocean sim for something. :)

JTJones853 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Fun little game. I liked the audio!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Simple fun game. I liked the final enemy, was not expecting to see an alien ship underwater.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:59pm

The music is fun xD! Weird game but still fun, ovnis beneath the surface, lol. Great work xD.

elefantopia says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:09am

Fun graphics, fun music. Nice challenge with the flying saucers. Great job!

May 14, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really cool idea, i always like to see what other persons can do with the same tools has me haha

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]