Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exile

by elliottd - Jam Entry

3d/2d exploration platformer.
Solo jam.
Unity, C#
Sculptris, Topogun, 3DStudio MAX
Photoshop

controls:
Arrows/WASD, Space, F
supports gamepad (analogue directions and buttons 1,2)
(you need to hold up to do the highest ledge grab, holding down makes you not grab ledges)

No sound, no sleep, no regrets.
@kenruze

A couple bugs that I may get a chance to fix:
The state doesn't reset if you complete the game (playing a second time, it ends immediately). Workaround is to restart the game.
Not enough feedback on opening a chest. with 5 minutes, I could make the tops disappear and clear up the confusion.

Also please check out my timelapse vidio. Very proud of how much I got done.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#107Graphics(Jam)4.16
#225Mood(Jam)3.38
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#544Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice graphics

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26am

Really good work on the stair climbing and ledge grabbing. The chest opening was pretty amazing too. Wish the physics were a bit smoother on wall sliding. I have to wonder, was she exiled for being too human?

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Nice animations. Like the overall look of the game.

It wasn't immediately clear to me that the I had to hold the light up to the darkness for a few seconds to make it disperse from the chests. I'm also sad to admit, I wasn't able to figure out how to open the chests.

Overall nice work!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

I explored all paths that I could see and opened all chests, but couldn't find what to do once I got to the bottom. Impressive 3D graphics for the limited time

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

how u do that tho?

alect says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

The animations made everything feel super smooth. Good work.

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Very nice. Animations are smooth. Climbing ledges that are a bit high can be tricky though.
When the idol dude chucks the candle it always gives me a giggle :-)

May 2, 2014 @ 1:05am

Really good game. I love the graphics and effects.

blahoink says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:10am

not particularly fun yet but great animations and base for more mechanics

Loneshark says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:16am

Who and what were those escorts at the beginning?

What was the deal with the light stick?

What was in those chests?

What was up with the darkness?

SO MANY QUESTIONS

colludium says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Good graphics!

mechabit says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Amazing work for 3 days, great graphics and animations, shame about the sounds. I found a couple of the chests but then my character got stuck in an animation loop and I couldn't get out of a pit.

Exergy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Really nice with the steps and the ledges!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Cool animations, but they sometimes get in the way of play. It made it difficult to fall past certain 1tile wide gaps because it kept thinking I wanted to climb up or something.

Also, my walking animation glitched at one point, it looked like it kept alternating between the falling animation or something.

Took a while to figure out to hold up the light to make the dark disappear, and never figured out how to open the chests (unless that animation with the bright light was opening the chests? it looked like she got on the ground and opened it, but the chest didn't look any different so it was confusing).

I really wish there was some music and sounds. Would've added a lot to the ambiance.

So, I explored and scared away the darkness but couldn't really figure out what to do from there. Felt unfinished, but had an interesting ambiance so I'm a little disappointed that I didn't get to experience more of the story and levels.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:34pm

oh, btw, bonus points for gamepad controls. Always feels better using a controller for these types of games, to me.

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:22am

nice graphics.
Little bugs (I made an out of bound...) but for 72 hours it's pretty cool.

Cosine says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Great graphics. Felt like there really needed to be a bit more than exploration.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]