Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kraken

by Kate Kligman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Kraken. This is my first web-based Atari 2600 homage game, partially inspired by the Atari 2600 landfill dig held the weekend of Ludum Dare 29.

You are a deep sea explorer searching for treasure. As your craft descends into the murky depths large kraken will approach your ship. Fire your harpoons to kill them before they get close enough to attack your underwater vehicle.

Press left or right to use your claw to capture treasure. Avoid hitting anchors which will damage your craft.

Your deep sea adventure awaits!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#894Theme2.83
#936Humor1.89
#1172Mood2.00
#1178Fun2.10
#1194Overall2.35
#1234Graphics1.76
#1237Innovation1.83

Comments

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I've not played any Atari 2600 games, so I can't compare, but it looks authentic! Nice job.

zn01wr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04am

Interesting... could be a bit more polished but nice job!

JoeProgram says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Controls felt fine, liked the call back to the days where you could only fire a single bullet. The squids didn't feel like they were actually getting close to me - would have loved for them to get much bigger, move towards the ship, become a brighter shade of red - something like that.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Fun game, I love old style games like this! The only thing I would really suggest is making the player have some sort of center point or something to assist in aiming. Fun entry!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:11pm

This is definitely mechanically similar to 80s arcade and Atari games. I think that, overall, you've achieved your goal which is easily the most important part of Ludum Dare.

Unfortunately, that doesn't necessarily make the game very much fun.

Paddle motion could use some acceleration, both to give motion more weight and to allow finer control over small motions.

The slow projectile speed coupled with the 1-bullet allowance makes missing excruciating--and while this encourages deliberate/efficient player action, deliberacy works best with more cerebral games than simple action ones.

There didn't appear to be much variety in treasure velocity on a moment-to-moment basis (maybe it was increasing steadily over time?). If treasure fell at varying speeds, it would make the player's decision making more dynamic, since the priority of actions they can take would shift. As it is, the slow treasure speed means they can be pretty safely ignored until the last moment.

So, congratulations on creating a pretty authentic-feeling Atari game, but I think it needs a few tweaks to be a fun game.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Audio is missing, btw it is entertaining.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:57am

Ehm.. you could've done so much more with this.. :(

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice job! Crazy that Atari dumped all those cartridges!

I would echo that would have been nice if the squid changed colour coming towards you, to to emphasise the fact that they are (it took me a while to realise that). I thought it was also a bit easy so I think changing the speed/direction of the anchors and treasure would have been a nice addition. I enjoyed playing it!

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:54am

I used to play Seawolf on Atari as a kid. This really brought me back. Well done.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35am

Simpel but nice look

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Cool use of the theme. It wasn't clear when I died sometimes, other than the score reset. A few sounds and some updated graphics would make this a pretty fun game I think. :)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

Mechanically, it has that retro feel for sure. Pretty fun!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:28am

If the krakens were more angular, and the anchors had fatter pixels, this would easily pass for a poor-quality crash-of-'83 Atari 2600 era video game. Really needs sound effects though, feels incomplete without them.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:36am

Not bad, pretty simple and it works well.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:05am

Simple but enjoyable.

Jacic says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:38pm

It looks like an Atari 2600 game, good consistency with the design! It's simple, but fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]