Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Her Touch

by ZeppelinCaptain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please do write a comment if you rate the game. Comments are the best.

Arrow keys for travel. Mouse or number keys (1,2,3) to choose their fates. You have three lives.

Turn up the volume. Explore. Take your time. Enjoy.

The game is challenging. Don't give up. Oftentimes, it's all about finding the right strategy, not just trying the same thing over and over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#134Mood3.67
#216Innovation3.57
#228Audio3.31
#412Overall3.32
#617Humor2.35
#629Fun2.94
#630Graphics3.04
#1009Theme2.58

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

Difficult to get past the blue guy, but interesting nonetheless.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

Loved the graphics and the music! great!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39am

Neat concept!

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Clever game mechanics! I got a crash when leaving the screen with the red boss - maybe because I left before interacting with him? Difficulty seems a little bit high overall but nice work.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Thanks for the comments! Difficulty is supposed to be a bit high, but it's definitely beatable. I updated the game to fix the crash after the red one, thanks for the bug report!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Wow. This is beautiful. Also touching, challenging and atmospheric. Really feels like The Story. Gameplay, choices, dialogs - everything feels natural, like it should be. The way dialogs are progressing on screen - love it.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

More explanation at the beginning on what the three powers are would be nice, but once you get into it, it's pretty fun! Not a big fan of the graphic style, but I liked the music very much!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Innovative idea! I like it.

donan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27am

Great game :D
Good work ^^

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very interesting combination between text and graphics. Nice game with good ideas, maybe it only needs more polishing in graphics ;-)

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very cool. I really like how the narrative it told. The only thing I would suggest is to put text in where combat isn't heavy. at one point I flew past dozens of lines because I was pursued by enemies.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Like the concept! But daaaamn it was kind of difficult! Didn't finish the game because i got to frustrated with myself haha

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Wow, great audio and graphics. I will try to finish the game with the an other one. May be hard sometimes to read the text and avoid missiles. I enjoy it, good work.

Khopa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Great concept. I love it.

I got stuck once with the red guy, he was blocked in a wall and i couldn't reach him.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Love the mood of it, especially when employing certain powers. Couldn't quite work out the story or message behind it, but even as a mood piece it does a very good job.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Quite fun with a nice mood to it

Andy Gainey says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:41pm

In terms of game mechanics, I found the core concept intriguing. I bet there are a lot of interesting ways one could expand those mechanics.

As for the narrative theme, I had a hard time reading all the text while paying attention to all the little sphere coming at me. I think this was a bit more difficult because entire thoughts would be spread out across a few different pieces of text, some of which I could read comfortably, others I could not, with moments of game play distraction in between also.

I also didn't feel a strong connection between the mechanics and the narrative, since the meaningful decisions didn't usually actually seem very meaningful. Mostly I just avoided the bullets as best I could, chose to kill some of the lesser mobs because hey, why not, and always sacrificed the prior lover for the next. Didn't see any reason to do otherwise, which made the decisions feel rather flat.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Got to the end! This was great. It's probably the most innovative game mechanics I've seen so far this jam. You did a great job tying story and gameplay together, too! I appreciate your exhortations not to give up as well, haha. Some parts were pretty frustrating, but eventually I figured them out. You also did a good job choosing a "game over" sound that was evocative and yet not irritating, which I can tell you because I heard it a lot, LOL.

There were a few lasting things you might want to work on for a post-compo version.

1. A health bar/health pips would really help.

2. I never actually saw any of my lovers destroy anything--I pretty much just exploded every last enemy. So, for that reason, though I liked having them along for atmospheric purposes their in-game functionality seemed kind of lacking.

Great job with the mechanics, though. I've never played anything even vaguely like this, and it was definitely a good experience.

mortus says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I liked it a lot! I think it could be a little bit brighter, sometimes it's too dark for me, especially if playing at daytime.

Mechanics is very interesting, I only wish the 'bosses' could appear more often.

Will play more for sure as I didn't finish i yet, I'd like to see how it all would end.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:07am

Love the music, and graphics!

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Very unique. I love the music, decent graphics. Great game. only criticism is i would like to be able to read the text, but the enemies make it way to hard to. Over all great game. Best of luck

zzForrest says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Very interesting! I love music, that's probably one of the hardest things to do in compo. Neat mechanics, but I don't really see the theme.

JordanFitz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:35am

Looks really cool :) I enjoyed the music and atmospheric effects.

xbcw says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:13am

Very unique game. I enjoyed the atmosphere.

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Great storytelling through gameplay, great mood, cool graphics in the vein of ice-pick lodge kind of weird. Nice choice of music. Not sure how I feel about randomness of attack patterns, but otherwise it's a totally awesome job.
The red guy was sexy.

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nice mechanic and mood ! Great job :)

VictorDoval says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Thanks, great idea, sweet gameplay. Congratulations!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Interesting concept!
My biggest complaint is that it's hard to read the story when you have a bunch of enemies shooting at you. Took me a while to realize the lines were coming from both characters, the change of pronouns was confusing me because i couldn't quite make out the graphics.
I also found it easiest to just run away avoiding bullets and leaving the lover behind, which seems a bit counter to the point of the game haha.
Nice work!

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:17pm

neat concept, I like the music and how the words in the background give a real sense to what is going on.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]