Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sub Marine - Alpha

by marccspro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Sub Marine...
You are in a sub marine. But there is a probleme... Some kind of virus contaminated all the crew will you were sleeping. But now you wake up and see every thing. You need to get out of the sub marine. But you need keys to open doors and you need to find them. The last door will take you beneath the surface...

-------------------------------------
Controls:

ZQSD or WASD or Arrows
Mouse to control the view
Mouse click to shoot
-------------------------------------

This is my 3rd Ludum Dare !
And this time I made a 3D game using Java 7 and LWJGL.

Audio bugs for some peoples I don't know why :/

Game made By Marccspro
you can find me here @marccspro

I am french

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#54Fun3.86
#100Overall3.81
#246Graphics3.69
#385Mood3.18
#515Humor2.48
#637Audio2.61
#641Theme3.17
#1037Innovation2.39

Comments

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Thanks for this submarine "wolfenstein", and for Azerty keyboard support (May be only Frenchies, think about it).

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very solid controls, reminded me of Wolfenstein 3D which I played to death. Graphics were simple but nice and got the job done.
Small nitpick: The enemies had a maximum range in which they would fight back, allowing me to snipe them from afar without risks.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41pm

This game is just awesome! (comparated to others including mine)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very well done. Sometimes the audio for the weapon would cut out.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I like those kind of "3D"-games. I had some sound problems, but I still enjoyed it.

Slin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

It does not work on OSX, the menu is flickering, the mouse jumping and I can´t do anything.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Reminds me of a game I've played before, can't remember which. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very well made and polished game. and reminds me of old school Doom. A bit hard to know where to go next though.

Thinkofdeath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Pretty fun game. The framerate spiked low a random points which made it hard to control.

Seme says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Very well done! This reminded me of good old Wolfenstein!

sam101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Pretty fun game, the game is fast-paced, the gameplay is well done, it just lacks music. I enjoyed playing it ! :)

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Nicely done!

Moebius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

This brought back a lot of memories of good old Duke Nukem. And you also have 5+ weapons. Perfect game!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

This is one of the best ones yet. A solid little Wolf3D thing. It was paced well too, whenever I was about to die or run out of ammo I found some more :) And unlike Wolf I didn't spend half the time being lost.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Nice! It plays real well. Good job.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice wolfenstein graphics!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Great game! As others have mentioned it reminded me very much of Wolfenstein in a good way. Some slight audio glitches.. seemed like lots of audio would play at once ocassionally.

Boberro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Works fine for me, but it could help if you gave the information on which version of java you made this game.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Really enjoyed your entry. Good old Wolfenstein :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Okay, this is pretty solid, but there are some problems.
The overly-slick controls, tight spaces, and high enemy RoF meant it was pretty much impossible to dodge their shots and it basically turned into a slugfest. You couldn't even play peek-a-boo behind doors because they would shoot regardless of what was in the way. Sounds often played delayed or not at all. The scenery was repetitive and easy to get lost in. Locked doors weren't color-coded to their keys.
Despite that it was still one of the more fun entries I've played.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:12am

Looks awesome...but it seems when I try to play it there is no walls or floor. I'm on windows.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:58am

I can't click on anything in menu, clicks are being ignored... :-( (Linux)

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:58am

Wow java7 and LWJGL.. I wonder how many games was made with LWJGL on this LD. Any way, nice game and funny art style!

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 5:45pm

I feel so spoiled to get such amazing advice from such an attentive and extremely knowledgeable person. http://downloadthefilefast.com : Welcome to Condell Park Public School on your iPhone and iPod Touch.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]