Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

pod

by TomCooper3D - Jam Entry

"pod"

find your way in this little world



Hey thanks for checking out my game!

*controller support*

movement - Arrow keys

start game / pass through - space

@tomcooper3d
tomcooper3d.wordpress.com






Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Innovation(Jam)3.65
#173Mood(Jam)3.53
#188Audio(Jam)3.47
#196Graphics(Jam)3.84
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#446Fun(Jam)2.87
#534Theme(Jam)2.81
#562Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

XenosNS says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20am

Love the style of the art and music. Nice take on flOw.

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03am

This link: http://webplayer.unity3d.com/installation/getunity.png needs to also be https otherwise it will be blocked by browsers and people won't be able to download unity. For me it just shows a black screen.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

A lot of this "zen" type games showing up, I like it! :) This one looks like flying around in some sort of abstract painting , that's the first time I ever did that :p

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15am

Very pretty!

Kar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

I'm not sure if I can actually win in this game... But you know what? I don't really care, I feel relaxed after playing :D Good job.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

you can win! get 12 little blue triangles to the big blue triangle and enter another dimension(so to speak)

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

The gameplay and the art were phenomenal, congrats my friend.

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51am

Not sure if I found the way, but I certainly enjoyed my time there :) Very nice environment.

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

lovelyyy style, and the little physics-amoebas are cool

NiallM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

This is gorgeous. I struggled a bit to find all the blue triangles though - that part felt a little frustrating towards the end. Perhaps some kind of subtle directional hints would have helped.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

This game is now one of my favorites, great feeling, music helps a lot, physics are nice, Great Job! Hope there were more levels, I wanted to play more this game!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

And surprised when I watched the timelapse and you used the same tools as me (including fruity loops and cinema 4d :OOO)

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

That's really strange game and I don't know what I think about it. Graphics are nice, music is strange. Anyway, I won by collecting some triangles, when I found I can escape ship while hodling space.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Very Zen, yes! I like how the things are always moving somehow.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Awesome! Love the audio and graphics, very inventive.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

No sense ,but beautiful.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Fantastic game. I love the music and the art. Just beautiful.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Took me a while to get what I was supposed to do while it should have been obvious (I somehow instantly forgot the triangle-thingy from the start) but I had great fun figuring it out (again) while floating around. The end was a bit unspectactular but overall a well done game. Very relaxing atmosphere and sound.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

Interesting little game. Kind of unsure what i was supposed to be doing for most of it.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

It could move a little faster

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great graphics and interesting concept. Nice job :)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Um did I win?

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

It was nice learning what to do while playing. Thanks for the game! :)

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Woaaaaaah, chilliiiiing, looooveee iiiiiit duuuuuuuudeee :)

small trouble says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Nice artstyle and I liked trying to figure out what the goal was when I started playing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

That was great, really enjoyable to play. Just nice to float around and slowly figure out what to do.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Very nice! Great ambience and a world you can interact with.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

liked the 'abstract' art. Nice job :)

elliottd says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

have my babies

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:30am

Tom, you did great on this game. One of the best of the bunch. Understanding of the "objective" would be better although that kinda defeats the purpose now doesn't it

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:04am

Very great atmosphere you got going, wasnt sure what i was doing but i was very chilled doing it :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:40am

I really love the graphical style you used. It's very slick and smooth. I'm not sure what I was doing, but I was enjoying it! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07am

Once you discover what you have to do, it's pretty short... But I really like the "discovering what you have to do" part :)
This is one of those rare games where it would have been less enjoyable if there were a tutorial, imo.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Niceeee!

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:57am

I quite liked this, the abstract microbial world was a lot of fun to explore, and collecting the triangles felt sufficiently challenging with all physics in the game. You could add some competition between the creatures, maybe they could steal your triangles, but it might ruin the zen abstraction. Technically the controls could be a little tighter and responsive, but thats a minor crit. Nice work ^_^

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:18am

Wow'd me, really cool thingamajig you've got here

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Love the music and the exploration concept! Really nice!

delfino says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Fun, it was cool that it took me a minute to figure things out. I enjoyed exploring the world you created

May 2, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Nice concept, great ambiance!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:34am

I don't know what I was doing, but I wanted to keep doing it!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I have no idea what I was doing, but I loved doing it! Great vibe

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:21am

I really like the graphics and the mood of the game - but I just don't see any point to it - good effort

Lerc says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:44am

I made the screen go totally Blue. I think that's something.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I didn't "get it" when I played but it was pleasant to play with!

Simon says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Awesome mood and really cool experience. Loved to play with my little space aquatic ship. I don't get the link with the theme though? Can you tell us :) ? Anyway, great entry!

TomCooper3D says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:13pm

@Simon thanks! The theme was "beneath the surface" so i made the control the mechanic around that. you manipulate your ships from within. its also intentional that you cant quite tell if its underwater, in outer space or if its microscopic. im alright with people not knowing whats going on or even if it can be completed.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I love this game, very very cool idea indeed with the microbial setting and the semi-permeability :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]