Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Runners

by kelley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keep your plant alive by steering its roots around rocks and other roots. Get ready for when the roots split!

Note: If the controls aren't working, make sure the game window is active by clicking on it. Requires Unity webplayer plugin.

Controls:
Hold arrow keys or WASD to move left and right.
Space to cycle through roots.
Click to select a specific root.
Refresh the page to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme4.00
#55Innovation4.04
#330Fun3.30
#370Overall3.37
#630Graphics3.04
#765Mood2.76
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06am

At first I was pretty bored by this, but then more roots started sprouting and it suddenly became very interesting. Cool game!

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

controlling multiple at once is really fun!

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

That was quite fun! Would feel a lot better if you could smooth out the camera movement. Maybe try and lerp it at a certain speed to the destination point? Great job with the theme.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Good game. When the roots started splitting it got really fun and challenging.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

cool concept and excellent executation

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

cool concept

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Is there any reason not to make the roots collide to make the game easier? Perhaps it should go faster when there are more roots, or something sort-of self-balancing! :)

kelley says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:26am

Thanks everyone for commenting and giving such great feedback! I'm really glad you're enjoying my little game.

@porousnapkin: That's a great suggestion. I was attempting to play up the retro/8-bit vibe by having everything move in discrete steps, but it's definitely something I'll consider for future improvements!

@Gwinnell: The roots colliding with one another was meant to make the game a bit more challenge and strategic. Like you have to make sure you don't cut off one of your other roots when moving to avoid a rock. But maybe that makes the game a bit too hard :)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42am

Ha, we had a very similar idea but went in a bit different direction (You control every root at the same time in our game). Interesting to see it done this way.

elefantopia says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:40am

Fun, challenging game, especially when the roots split and you're cycling through them. Great work.

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:43am

Pretty clever idea!

May 14, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Interesting concept :D very fun, great work :D

xevozfighter says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I really like the fact that more roots sprout the deeper you go. A little sound would go a long way to add to the mood.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:59am

184ft - nice game

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:09am

Not bad! I do like the root splitting as a way of adding more variety to the game, but it did feel like there were too many times where there was nothing to do. Nice job with the graphics too!

CommanderJ says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:51am

Wow those extra roots sprouting makes it so much more difficult (and fun). I really like it. I think it could have used some sound, almost anything really. Nice take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]