Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smoldering Star

by Mikhail Lyubimov - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to fly as far as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#33Mood4.06
#42Audio3.89
#43Overall3.97
#88Graphics4.08
#109Fun3.69
#117Innovation3.81
#376Theme3.46
#653Humor2.30

Comments

bendmorris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

It looks cool, but unfortunately the page isn't loading for me.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Wow, really nice use of dynamic shadows !
I would love to have a key to have a speed boost to have maximum flow sensations :)
+4

zlowrance says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Game loaded but the play button did not respond to clicks

NickRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

This game is awesome but the only problem is the laggy movement

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

If there is a problem with the build of the web (not start or low FPS) download the standalone version

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Could not get to work in webplayer, no clicks detected.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Wow, really stunning visuals. And really finished music too - assuming you've made that during the 48 hours too. The shadows became a bit unpredictable later in the game so I got a bit frustrated and gave up.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

uploaded to another hosting and added version
with simplified graphics

flavio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

I had to play on the low quality one for web player
Anyway, very nice use of the light and the mood
The use of the shadow is great
I liked it :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nice ! Beautiful and nice songs. A lot of innovation in your game !

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

Great rounded shadows! Best distance:132. Music was nice.

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really liked the concept and you did a great job with the execution.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41am

Wow it looks like it took some serious programming to generate the world. I like the graphics and the music adds tremendously to the mood. I'd like to see some variety as we progress through the game. Oddly enough I got to a score of 111 which is the same as your screenshot :P

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

WOW. Absolutely fantastic. Enjoyed every second of it.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44am

Nice game! Great lighting effects, which not just make the game looks great, but also makes the gameplay much more fun and challenging!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05am

Wow! This game just looks amazing :D!
It does a little difficult figuring out the shadows, and you don't have much vision, but that's part of the beauty I suppose! The gameplay is fun, but this game really shines in its aesthetics and mood :]!

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Unfortunately it was too laggy for me to really play

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Where is the source code? Please respect the rules.
Izvini brat' no ti doljen soblioudat' pravila ++

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54am

Great idea!!!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:52am

The mood. Sound and graphics. Great! (:

mattrified says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Best was 33. Very interesting patterns. Nice job.

Snoother says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Concept is wonderful, with an enjoyably drab element of surrealism. And the music enhances this with a kind of sad majesty. Gameplay-wise, the controls are a bit stiff, but the core mechanic works really well. Congrats, this deserves to place well.

miwuc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Awesome mood, the shadows really feel alive, well done.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Wow ! This is very cool and disturbing. I tried it in normal and low quality and it seems the illusion works a lot better in normal mode. Anyway congratulations on making a very interesting gameplay from a very simple mechanic.

pjchardt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very cool mood and visuals. Nice game. As others have said please respect the rules and provide source code, you can always enter the jam if you don't want to provide source.

robodylan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very neat navigation mechanics, I think it's the same thing I decided to use in my game. Raytracing? . Anyways overall A good game. Would be good on mobile.

Edgar Meante says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Very nice game! =) I think you need some sort of score board! With a data base! for everyone knows who take the longest way!

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Game is very original, and the art is pretty cool, like others said, very nice use of the light ;)

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Super cool! I loved trying to figure out what the shapes were based on their shadows, this is a pretty interesting way to present the world :D

vigrid says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Awesome visuals, excellent music, and innovative approach to mechanics. Second best so far. (The best one is ours of course) ;)

May 14, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Wow the game is so awesome! Loving the graphics here! But my browser/computer cant handle it vert well :S Great work :D

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:56pm

It's an interesting game with shadows and a good music :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]