Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Dimensional

by kevinAlbs - Jam Entry

Two Dimensional is a basic shooter where you fight in 2d planes and enter portals to progress.

There is a BIG secret which will be revealed via email, so I really recommend you enter your actual email when the game prompts. You will only receive 1 or 2 emails (depending on how I progress) and I will not use your emails for any other purpose.


UPDATE 5/6
Thanks for all of the feedback guys. Kara, I will fix those bugs. I am waiting to receive 20-30 email signups before I reveal the hidden portion. Right now I'm at 7.

I am not planning to change this game. Instead I will fork it and take it in a different direction (no rounds, powerups, many more enemies, bosses, etc.).

UPDATE 5/11
I have 11 email signups so I still haven't revealed anything. I'm going to wait until I get 20 or until the judging ends. Either way you should all see the secret at the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#153Fun(Jam)3.40
#273Audio(Jam)3.28
#305Overall(Jam)3.32
#358Mood(Jam)3.08
#416Graphics(Jam)3.27
#490Innovation(Jam)2.73
#515Humor(Jam)2.19
#714Theme(Jam)2.10

Comments

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

I await the email!

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:02am

Looking forward to the secret. The panning is slightly disorienting but the core gameplay is smooth.

Recon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Great graphics!

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I really liked the art style, it's simple but effective. The audio also fits nicely. I did not enter my e-mail and hope for spoilers in the comments hehe

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:14am

Loved the art, controls were very polished, and the bgm reminded me of Columns from the Sega Genesis (which is very awesome). Not sure on the theme, but I assumed I was a microbe or something so it made sense. It was a little difficult and I ran into a few glitches (enemy placement, shot from off screen, fire button locked up, movement locked up) but overall I really enjoyed it.

May 10, 2014 @ 4:06am

Totally one of my favorites games on this jam, really cool.
I liked the mail thing.

mark.goetz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

I enjoyed this a lot! The gameplay was fun and exciting, I like the visuals, the sounds work for what they were, and I was impressed to see that you even added in a grading system after each level. I think a bit more feedback for when you hit enemies or when you get hit would've been nice, but it didn't significantly interfere with the game. Have you already revealed the secret yet?

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:48am

Fun game! It was easy to pick up but the difficulty curve got pretty steep, so that by level 2 I was already feeling like I was in the middle of a ton of chaos. Somehow you still made it responsive enough so that it was possible to narrowly escape things, which was really satisfying.

saulopz says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Very cool game. :) That was a good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]