Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Emerita

by st33d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Had to remove the background tunes because of the rules :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#58Innovation4.03
#62Fun3.84
#89Overall3.84
#308Theme3.55
#654Graphics3.00
#719Mood2.81
#828Audio2.21
#981Humor1.80

Comments

bugninja says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:55pm

This is brilliant! Can't wait for voting to start.

vipper says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Lol this game is awesome! O,o

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Clever mechanics! well done

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Where's the music from?

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very clever! This is a really good game.

ccglp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Well done, i'm getting pretty addicted to the game :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really cool game!

dusho says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:47pm

nice idea.. cool puzzle

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54am

I like it, great puzzle game!

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Really well thought out puzzle design! My 'R' key is getting a work out.

st33d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26am

If you click on the "hack" link it will take you to the source code and you can see the youtube code for the video the music is from: LkYhVE9QuOo

;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I love the mechanics!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Ah excellent, that's unique. At first I thought I had to eat all the sand but I figured out what to do easily.

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Very clever idea, great puzzle game

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic and feels like a really solid complete game, impressed with what you achieved in the time.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Very clever, I loved it.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

That's great... lovely puzzle, got about 6 levels in but bookmarked for a revisit

bugninja says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

Finally got to vote :) This is still one of my favorites!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

Wow, this is a very good puzzle game. Fits the theme very well

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

That puzzle script system is very cool. Fun game and innovative. Lots of puzzle variation. Pixel graphics are too pixel for me.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52am

Very cool concept! Being able to undo is a nice touch and makes the hook easier to learn.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hehe! This gets much harder than is seems! I really like this gameplay.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Super good puzzle design. The artwork is kinda strange, and I still have no idea what anything actually is, but I was pretty happy playing as a bunch of squares moving through a bunch of squares collecting a bunch of squares. Certainly has potential.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07am

Absolutely top-notch puzzle design. Uses the underground region as a puzzle mechanic, good SFX, great everything. I was ecstatic when I beat it -><-

I'm surprised not to have any suggestions! This is the best game mechanically that I've played so far this jam.

torcado194 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:15am

wow the level design is superb! i really love this one. awesome job!

csanyk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:37am

I don't really get what's going on, only understood that if I touched the three green things, I advance to the next level. Moving destroys the yellow ground and if there's no ground to reach the green thing, I can't win. But what is happening? I can't understand the rules for what destroys the ground, so it is hard to play. It's a neat idea, but without understanding the rules governing the terrain destruction, not so fun.

csanyk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:41am

Ah, I just figured it out! I was looking at it like it was top-down, now I am looking at it as a side view and it all makes sense. Brilliant design! Wish the graphics conveyed the viewing angle more to make it clear.

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Thanks to csanyk, it all makes sens now. I still can't get past level 4.
It's an intersting take on the theme though and I like the art style a lot.

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Very interesting, it kept me engaged for a long time. I like the whole vibe to it. I couldn't figure out what the X key was supposed to do though.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Really cool puzzle mechanic. I played at least 10 levels or so I think? Not quite sure how it relates to the theme at all, but it kept me entertained for awhile. Great difficulty curve!

hanoth says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Fun puzzle game! It is a lot of fun and the controls are perfect. I do think the retro graphics do it a disservice though. I think the idea is worth fleshing out and developing further, but if it were me I'd go for a slicker look. Just my $0.02.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:50am

Wow, this is a really great puzzle game! Also I love the concept of undoing your moves instead of redoing the round. It makes learning and adjusting so much easier and feels better than starting over. Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]