Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dowser (Lucy)

by fluidvolt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lucy is a dowser, except she can find all sorts of valuables besides water. Can you find all the valuables in this dump?

There's no real pre-loader so just wait a little bit (it's a really small game so it shouldn't take long).

Arrow keys are the only controls.

Edit: I put up the soundtrack! Get it free in the link (type 0 in price field to do so).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#48Audio3.85
#97Humor3.50
#116Theme3.83
#177Graphics3.83
#204Mood3.49
#290Innovation3.46
#308Overall3.44
#558Fun3.00

Comments

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

I found it pretty hard, I found the first TV, but after that... nothing! I liked the art though, and loved the sparse-but-interesting storytelling.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

Love the music!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really liked this. The whole package was great, especially the knuckleheads :)

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

did I find E.T., the atari game?
I was kinda perplexed at first, because it flashed,, but I didn't find the TV. Dug like 5 holes next to each other until I got it. Also, I liked the art in the intro, why did you change it in the main game? (Noooo, Lucy's hair doesn't stand up anymore!!! :) )

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Nice music, very clean graph and animations (I loved lucy's arm swinging ^^). But hard to find the stuff ! The double message with the theme is cool.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

very polished, very enjoyable!

shaneparsons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Very fun, I finished the game first time. Loved the music too!!

sirikan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

Really like the music :).

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49am

I laughed a couple of times and the graphics are real amazing.

Great job.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

Wow. Loved it :D
Too bad is really short, cause i liked it a lot ^^

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice, very simple game, I like the idea of games with minimal controls. I think the artstyle was perfect for a game like this. And I loved the music.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The sound design is really cool, great pixel art work too.

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57am

Pretty random, but very cool nonetheless. :)
Make more!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Yeah I found the teddy bear ! The flashes are a bit too hard too spot at first. I loved this simple yet very effective story, perfect match with the theme, you have my vote !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

This was well done! I really liked the audio and graphics, however, after finding the TV it was difficult to find anything, even when the white flash was signaling me to dig.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Love the music, the animations, the concept. You need to release the soundtrack!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Wow! Amazing Art, Music, Everything! Simple yet elegant. Good Job!

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

What a strange little game! I mean that in a good way. I love that you made a game about dowsing too. :) I managed to get to the end of the game. It was just the right length. If it hadn't ended as soon as it did, it would've needed some different mechanics being introduced to keep the treasure finding interesting. One question though, what the heck was that yellow drop that falls down when the muscle-heads are digging? Couldn't figure that one out.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

@HybridMind: that's actually the remnant of a ditched game mechanic, interestingly enough. I was going to have seagulls come and bother the diggers, and you'd have to swipe at the... stuff they dropped. Kinda crass now that I think of it. Actually, if you press left or right while digging you'll see I got far enough programming it that they will swipe. But there's no penalty if you don't! I ended up leaving the drop in anyway.

Thank you, and everyone else for the feedback. This is my first LD and it's been awesome.

Mikianthony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:09am

Love the art, but had trouble finding anything after first TV. If the flashes were more consistent, I would properly have had an easier time.

Charimation says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

I really enjoyed this game, great music, humor and graphics :) Really short, but it was a lot of fun!

Jod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:08am

That was really cute!

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:10am

Such a cute happy ending :D

May 1, 2014 @ 10:17am

Really beautiful looking game, and a charming story to match. Grear dialogue too. I'd like to immersive myself in this world for a few days!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:21am

Cute work
Did the game stop after the "I guess my family's not too bad" ? Because nothing is happening for me after that point
I like the little background and the oncles thing :)

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:17am

Very interesting and kinda funny! The idea is very unique too.

Kyle Parsons says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Short but very well put together. It was tough to pinpoint how flashy was necessary to warrant digging.

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46pm

One of the best games I've seen so far! Nice work, love the music!

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Really charming and relaxing. Also quite polished! Well done.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]