Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost of the trapped Miners

by thx4nothing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I have finished my very first Ludum Dare game. It is about a ghost who wants to rescue his co-workers in a destroyed mine.
I am not good at art so the game does not look as good as others might. I tried to get some life in the game with some moving objects and particles.
The music is missing because I do not know(yet!) how to make good music.
Some of my friends played it anf told me that it was not easy. Do not expect to win after one try.
I will try to fix some bugs in the next days.

How to play:
Extract the "GottM LD29 thx4nothing.zip" file and run the "Ghost of the trapped Miners.jar" file.
WASD-Key = movement
E-Key = interact

I know that it works on Windows but I do not know about other OS'

I hope you like it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#473Theme3.35
#655Mood2.89
#741Innovation2.81
#812Humor2.09
#816Audio2.23
#852Graphics2.69
#892Fun2.63
#912Overall2.81

Comments

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Doesn't work!
javax.imageio.IIOException: Can't read input file!
at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(Unknown Source)
at com.thx4nothing.util.Loader.loadImage(Loader.java:24)
at com.thx4nothing.main.Game.<clinit>(Game.java:44)
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: javax.imageio.IIOException: Can't rea
put file!
at com.thx4nothing.util.Loader.loadImage(Loader.java:29)
at com.thx4nothing.main.Game.<clinit>(Game.java:44)
Caused by: javax.imageio.IIOException: Can't read input file!
at javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(Unknown Source)
at com.thx4nothing.util.Loader.loadImage(Loader.java:24)
... 1 more

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Should be fixed in the newest version. A file was missing. Thank you.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52pm

It worked for me. I liked the game, it was cosy. I however think you saw a tad too little, because I often got murdered by something before realizing it was even there.

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

PETA would like to have a word with you...haha. Cool game. Like the idea, and to be honest I thought the dog food trap was clever. That being said, getting a text message and being frozen while arrows fly at me is not. If reading a message had paused the game in some way, the experience would have been better. It was still pretty fun though!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Good game, nice mechanics but I found it a bit difficult to control the character and the collisions where not permissive at all, so it was difficult to run when the cat thing was following me.

Good game overall!

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Having to restart at the first level after one death was annoying, but I still enjoyed it. Good job! ^_^

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Being chased in the darkness by something that will kill you in 1 hit with no way to defend yourself seems a little brutal. Interesting concept though.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Good game. Kind of reminded me of Home. Controls were a bit awkward, however.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52pm

why WSAD when you don't use the mouse? I don't want to play a game using just my left hand! looks really nice, nice lighting!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I don't know why, but I like it :)
The game loop should be stopped when dialog/tooltips are given.

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I liked the mood of the game but It's a bit difficult to see around because the view distance is to low I think :/ But It's a good game ;)

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Dog can thing was hard for me like the concept, nice entry

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

The vision radius made this game way too hard imho. Fluid controls and nice graphics though.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

A bit hard (because of the limited visibility, you can't plan ahead), but it was fun... the "graphic adventure" feel to it was very cool, and I liked the background story idea! Was expecting worse graphics from your description! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Jar works on OS X Mavericks. Nice graphics.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Massive performance issues make it almost unplayable.
For what I played though, it seemed decent enough. Graphics were nothing special, sound less so, there was some fancy lighting and the mood set was very nice.
Confirmed to run on OS X though, if you distribute it with the same run.bat with the .sh extension people on OS X and Linux would be able to run it, since the syntax for Java does not change across platforms.

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Fuck those dogs. But. I like that every level is a small story about you helping someone. It's a bit like a point and click adventure, but more fun and with more logical things to do. It was fun figuring everything out.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very beautiful for a first game- I found it quite hard, because of the limited field of view, and the dog/cat thing was more or less a sure death.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

Doesn't run on Mac.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46am

Not bad for a first LD game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Game runs fine under linux, just use java -jar Ghost\ of\ the\ trapped\ Miners.jar in the console.

Nice work, fun to play, a bit challenging (nothing a retry won't fix) and a nice adaption to the theme.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice but wish the lighting was a bit better/larger.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

For a first game this is really good! Keep it up.

Cezel_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:08pm

The game was really fun, a bit hard, but that just made it more fun in my opinion.

Spellmaker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice idea and very moody, though some of the mechanics make it really frustrating (such as traps killing you while reading a text...)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]