Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surface Come

by Tanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey! This is my second LD.
This time infinite runner:
Escape from the hell. Collect lives and diamonds.

Check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#138Audio3.53
#165Fun3.56
#340Overall3.41
#356Mood3.21
#404Graphics3.40
#405Humor2.66
#835Theme2.92
#872Innovation2.64

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01am

14 diamonds 7582m on run 1... I liked the music and the mouse controls...
The colours are well chosen, they worked well together...
Your screenshot has lots of blue squares, I couldn't get more than 3...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

Level 3 is a bitch !

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:51pm

@Xeke_Death you can upgrade max lives count in the menu. Just click on red text in center when you have enough diamonds :)

@pandavigoureux there are at least 5 :P

Thanks!

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15pm

GAHHH Level 3 you bitch!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50pm

great music!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Nice music and very dark

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Good aesthetic, it would be awesome to be able to start after level one. :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13pm

If not for the obvious trademark issues, a good title for this would be "Pitfall Harry's Escape from Hell". Pretty fun little runner!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Very cool. It's neat how such a simple style gives it so much character. I think there was an issue collecting lives; I con't grab them. Otherwise a very fun endless runner, and the achievement system is a really nice touch.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I like the controls. Nice gameplay. Level 4, hell yeah.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Only figured out you could use the mouse on the second run. I am horrible at this game, but I like it!

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

@CayoDaves you have to upgrade lives capacity. Now I know it isn't as intuitive as I supposed - upgrades are available exactly on center in menu :P (click it!!!!!!!one)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Wasn't expecting to be able to move the dude with my mouse so freely, made it easier in the beginning, but it sure ramped up fast. Nice work.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Cool music! It's not made very obvious that there are upgrades hehe. Nice premise.

Mefteg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I like the music! A bit difficult for me ^^' Great entry!!

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Love it, great Gfx + Music, the controls are very inovative, gives it a very specific feeling and difficulty.
Top Game!

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

Cool music and nice atmosphere.

Suyo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Loved the music, but moving the mouse to move made the game really easy since you could clear any obstactle without problems. Didn't really get hard until close to the end of Level 4.
Also, maybe the black boxes could be replaced by something else - when I saw the first one I assumed you could jump onto them, and lost a health point.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Main issues are the lag and the fact that you can pass through diamonds, other than that it is a pretty well made game. Like that you did not go overboard with the screenshake.

technocf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Overall a good game and runs smoothly. The controls could have been described a bit better.

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Neat idea. I feel like the beginning should have been a bit 'faster'?

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Great work !
little lag, but when you understand the mechanics, it's cool (:

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I liked how the game level was tilted.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The music is awesome. Not a big fan of running games, but this one had something.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:07pm

First run level 3, 4047m.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice take on the infinite runner "genre". The fact that I could move the mouse around made the game kind of easy in the beginning. Nice difficulty progression and challenges. I could see more upgrades and stuff to make the player want to try it over and over.

Harsay says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I love the music. It's not very connected with theme but action happens in hell. Graphics are minimalistic but matching good. I like the idea with player position related to mouse. You should consider making a post compo. Good job!

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28am

I enjoyed it, it is quite fun.
The rotated game design is incredible.
The music match a lot this hard core game^^.
The mouse controls are a bit weird at the beginning (especially the move-during-jump feature), but we get used to it.

PS: what is this plateform I can't jump on it? why it is black?

euske says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:30pm

After I learned the mechanics, I found the game pretty addictive. Well done.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Simple game, the mouse controls were nice though! And this music was loud haha... ^^

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:51am

Spotty hit detection made it very difficult to play, but it had a good sense of style and looks darn good for HTML5. Nice work!

Crefossus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I liked the control scheme and the interesting choice of skipping multiple obstacles or not.

A little slow at the start after the first try - maybe make these levels a little shorter?

Music helps keep up the energy level even though it gets a little repetitive. Could use sound FX.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Good, fun game. Graphics are lovely as is the music. Found the controls a bit hard to handle, but I liked that you were doing something unusual with them.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Great Game. Loved it. Optimize for mobile and take my money now.

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great game, it was a hell of a lot of fun to play and the music was perfect. Level 5, Beneath The Surface, was always too much for me!

May 10, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Fun game!! I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KGS8tZwHKag

peterlavey says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:00pm

2100M: D at first I was scared because I was with headphones, good music, was well packaged.

Tanner says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Thank you all for votes and comments! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Pretty good! As I'm not usually fan nor player of the endless runner genre I found this precisely implemented and actually quite challenging! Good job with audio and graphics part :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]