Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the 4th wall

by eemmbbeerr - Jam Entry

Instructions

Mostly in-game.
Start drawing the path from the ninja's original position.
Hold down SPACE to connect dots without clicking.
You can jump up to two units upwards.
Walls marked differently will disappear once stepped off.
Xs' mark the places of the scrolls on the map.


And sorry, we intended to put all these into the game but we ran out of time.
NOTE: We've uploaded an updated version that fixes a bunch of bugs that make levels impossible to complete occasionally. The victory screen will also always appear in the right place.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Humor(Jam)3.19
#193Innovation(Jam)3.39
#417Audio(Jam)2.96
#425Graphics(Jam)3.25
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#610Fun(Jam)2.46
#680Theme(Jam)2.31
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

Loved the intro! The cat question ha ha ha! Then the 'fun' button Q - brilliant. Very absurd and charming.got a bit frustrated with level 2 as I kept being told that I couldn't jump from there so i gave up. Liked the hand drawn graphics and sound too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

I had a lot of trouble figuring out what to do. The first level does not start out showing the player so I didn't even know where to start the level. I also was not able to undo my path all the way to the beginning so I couldn't retry the level after testing it the first time.

But I guess for anything that sees this. When you get to the connect the dots area the character is in the bottom left corner and you can start drawing the path from there.

Christophe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42am

Funny Rainbow. But I had some problem to start playing with the pen and the cross. Overwise it's fun to see the Ninja jumping and try to find the good path. And if you spam Q You spam unicorns... so Overloaded screen with unicorns. Seriously Unicorns comming from "beneath the surface" that's really fun.

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

You should hide the back button ^^' I've unfortunately run several times the animation ^^

The idea is nice, but it's hard to play and I found the level too big, it was not easy to navigate.

Anyway, there is a strong basis, good job !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Nice game, I like the break the 4th wall style. Great audio ;) and funny jokes. Great work I love it !

May 1, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I love the art work, it's pretty interesting. Music is also great. It took me some time to find where to start the way before i found the character. Overall is a funny game.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Very interesting concept. I think it might be better if the ninja moved faster and the camera followed him during a test run.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Unicorns for the win.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I liked the style of the game and the starting jokes, I would have loved if this had more intuitive gameplay or more clear instructions regarding the pen and paper.
Music was good, and the rainbow so out of place was indeed funny.

May 5, 2014 @ 3:45am

Really creative idea. Loved the prancing rainbow ponies. The only thing I didn't like was how slow the ninja went.

Jeffalisk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Great graphics and sounds, and can't help wondering what would've happened if I said I liked cats!

But I have to admit I couldn't really figure out what I was meant to do in the "planning" stage, it could have been explained better I thought.

mactinite says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I really like the idea of this game, though it could do with some easing into. Some levels that taught me how the guy can move would have been wonderful, the first level is a bit long (especially since the ninja moves kinda slow) but altogether this is a solid game. Fun to play and even challenging. I like it :)

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:42pm

really good idea.
Surprising graphics but, in fact, pretty cool (some white square on the sprite of ninja to remove)
But if you have time and would continue, make a camera that follow the ninja (if we don't move the mouse) and a button to accelerate speed (it's so long that we don't test tricky move...)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]