Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DrawL

by hoqjed - Jam Entry

*You will need a mouse with a scrollwheel to play this game.*

Controls:
Scrollwheel - ascend / descend
Mouse movement - left / right

If you're having trouble, those orbs look mighty hungry for some sun...

Created by Dylan Gallardo and Farhan Qureshi. The coding and art were created from scratch in 72 hours. Credit to Erokia from freesound.org for his ever moody tunes.

The Web version is prefered. Try not to alt-tab out of the game, it disables scrolling for some reason. The PC version has been sorta-tested, seems to work fine. MAC and Linux untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Mood(Jam)3.85
#117Innovation(Jam)3.62
#117Theme(Jam)3.69
#168Graphics(Jam)3.92
#208Audio(Jam)3.42
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#496Fun(Jam)2.76
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Simon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

Really pleasing experience! Too bad the mouse wheel control kinda break it for me (I have a basic scroll wheel and not free spinning one...). Anyway I enjoyed it! Thanks.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Good mood in this one :)

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Gorgeous graphics and an interesting concept, but ultimately the mechanics are too limited to keep you playing very long.

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Great atmospehere! My pidgeon froze in the water a couple of times before i realized I could go upwards. Not sure if this was a glitch or if it drowned. When the pool was completely drained I flied around for a while but didn't find what I was supposed to do.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I think my mousewheel just broke. Worth it.

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I like the music! But I wish I could control this with my keyboard instead, would've made more sense to me:7 Also I didn't quite get a feeling of being connected to the orbs, and it was hard to tell when they would let go and stop following me.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great graphics and audio work. Never played a game that made use of the scroll wheel like that, so I gave you full innovation marks. However I did find it rather tiring. Also it seemed like I died more or less in the same spot everytime. Is there a refil on your sun eventually? Or are you suppose to just die? (Even when I avoided the orbs I still died)

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great graphics and audio work. Never played a game that made use of the scroll wheel like that, so I gave you full innovation marks. However I did find it rather tiring. Also it seemed like I died more or less in the same spot everytime. Is there a refil on your sun eventually? Or are you suppose to just die? (Even when I avoided the orbs I still died). Oh, it also needs a restart for when you die!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Whoops, sorry for the double post. I meant to add that a restart when you die would be really useful.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Cool game! I scrolled so much that my index finger became numb from the clicking in the scroll wheel on my mouse.

Tamik says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:13am

I liked the ascetics. Definately feels a little bare. Then again it does have an interesting sense of loneliness and seeking others.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:04am

It is a nice game. Too bad I got stuck, but this game looks beautiful.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Wow scrolling scrolling scrolling died. Novel controls but I kind of zoned out while playing. Gorgeous art.

ErikU says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Very nice graphics, it seems we went with something similar, haha. It was fairly frustrating to lose the orbs if the scrolling was too fast, despite the scrolling being already slow. In any case, the exploration was fun. I'm not sure if there was an ending with the statues?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]