Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Small sacrifice

by Kragnir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move
Mouse to shoot
Space to skip and/or progress text.

The game contain 1 boss and some story.

Enjoy!

Started one day late but had a pretty clear idea on what I wanted. Still needed almost all time that was left to finish the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#343Humor2.78
#1010Audio1.59
#1040Fun2.41
#1117Overall2.53
#1128Mood2.20
#1130Innovation2.20
#1201Graphics1.94
#1201Theme2.00

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:34pm

that is some fast paced game. didn't expect it. pleasant surprise :)

SethR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Alas, I was unable to end the curse due to my limited bullet hell skills

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

I liked the feeling of a bullethell shooter :)
But i think the textures were a little too tiny.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Might wanna make that spider move a little slower. . . :)

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

The whole thing seems quite rushed. We get a story crammed in to two text boxes, and the only fight is a really difficult boss. A few smaller enemies at the start would be good to get people used to the controls.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:20pm

lol I couldn't beat it, but it was fun trying. Good work :)

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Too damn hard to kill the jelly thing

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

fastest rpg game I ever played :) Humor 5/5

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:37pm

I have died so many times. Haha, difficult but quite fun :)

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Between the barely-visible player sprite, the pitiful attack range, the bullet hell situation, the boss's incredible movement speed, and the measly three hit points, you've made a game that's virtually impossible.

I understand that you were going for bullet hell, but please try to cut the player a little more slack.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Haha at first I thought it was to be an RPG and then, arcade time! Unbalanced but amusing.

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I liked it more than I should ! :D I really tried to kill that damn monster ! I hope there is a HUGE gift for those who succeed !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Incredibly difficult game! Not bad though.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

It's quite hard :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Hahahaha jelly troll

Custard Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Awesome game. Graphics were horrible for the game, but the game was surprisingly fun. I managed to figure out a technique. You generally want to stay just far enough away that bullets hit him, and stand in the middle shooting as he goes past you.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Cool game.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

A bit too hard, but it was fun while it lasted! Good job!

Belvar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Cool dynamic gameplay. I like the way you made some kind of story around the "die and retry" thing.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Ouch, that fight was surprisingly difficult. Maybe the bright green on the first screen had burnt out my retinas? I like the bullet hell style though. I kind of want to know more about the story too, the small amount in there actually seems sort of interesting.

dusho says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34am

that's lots of bullets there
my guy almost as fast as my bullets, also my range doesn't help my survival

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

Man it's hard and cruel, but fun to play. Although I would like to have some weaker enemy at first encounter :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53pm

This is a really rough experience and it took me many tries to kill the green monster (my final result was ~7000 frames). Without any sort of acceleration on the player, it is very difficult to make the sort of small movements needed for these types of games. The boss moves very quickly, and without any sort of impact feedback I am always uncertain if my bullets are connecting or if the boss's superior speed allowed it to dodge.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:13pm

So fast @_@

ALobker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Wow, this is really hard. Kudos to anyone who can make it.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Basically I thought I would add the idea of the boss. I wanted a boss that does not live only on a big health pool.

For this to be possible he need to fully use his movement speed but still move in such a way so that someone seeing the boss for the first time will chase the shadow of the boss and in general have the boss run circles around him while someone who understands how the boss works can beat him in a few seconds.

This make me have to limit the range of your weapon so that you can not beet the boss without having an understanding on how he moves. It also force a more or less 6:1 ratio on bosshp and playerhp to avoid the player being able to simply facetank the boss.

The only randomness in the bossfight is the bullets that appear on the edge of the screen and the by far easiest way to beat the boss is to understand how he moves. The boss is just a tiny bit faster than you he feels much faster because you are moving to the wrong place. If you take the innercurve you are probably even faster than him.

Another important part is that while you are going for doing damage you are taking a risk and moving away from the more or less safespot in the middle.

I did not experience everything being hard to see when I tested it but it is a good point I should have changed the background color to something else.

@Mental Atrophy
The fact that the boss could almost outrun bullets is a good point I didn't think of that. It is an unintended extra bit of difficulty.

I am very impressed that you managed to beat the game. I don't see how acceleration would make it easier to control the player though. I thought the feedback of having the bosshp lowers when you hit him was enough but I should have made it more clear.

@Everyone
Thanks for your comments I believe in you, you can beat this boss.

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Love the story, bullet hell gameplay is always fun! controls are a bit too fast though and I wish my bullets have father range

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:52am

Jeez, that's a hectic game. Didn't even come close to beating him, I was way too busy dodging bullets to even get close enough to hit him.
I understand why you made the weapon range so short and the boss so fast-moving, but it quickly got frustrating when I couldn't even get one hit on him without dying.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:32am

More fun than I thought after the first try!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]