Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Darkness Shines Through

by Empyrealhell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Darkness Shines Through

You are an investigative reporter hired to look into a child that went missing. You are led to a small town that appears to have no information about the child, but looks can be deceiving. Investigate this town to uncover the dark truth that lies beneath.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#267Audio3.23
#505Mood3.04
#660Innovation2.91
#702Overall3.04
#767Graphics2.83
#774Theme3.00
#793Humor2.12
#935Fun2.57

Comments

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Nice combo of platforming and stealthiness. Music works really well to set mood. The whispering was creepy as hell.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28am

I liked your interpretation of the theme. Good job.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

Thanks! I figured everyone would be doing something about being underground or under the ocean, so I tried to be a bit different.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

It's a little bit overwhelming at first. I would have liked a little bit more guidance through the game at the start, but once you get into it, it was a fun playthrough.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32am

The music reminded me of Little Big Adventure!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice, I really liked the whispering sound and music.. Some bigger help on the start would be great :-) Good job

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

"i've lived here my whole life and i never want to leave" is awesome dialogue im not even joking

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Cool! I too would have liked a little more handholding early on. Great work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

Quite enjoyable! It was a little hard to figure out exactly where you were at times, like when you opened doors, but overall a fun experience! Nice job!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

I have a hard time with stealth games, so I ended up giving up, unfortunately. There's a ton of content here, though, for a jam game, and music as well. Pretty cool. People in that town must have some serious jumpin' muscles to get to their doors!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23am

Man those whispering voices where creepy! Very well done

Warboys says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

That whispering sound effect freaked me out! Which is a good thing. Was fun to explore the area and the cult theme is great.

I kind of got stuck, couldn't figure out where to go after getting the first clue (with the running shoes). Was jumping around and died/reset a few times but still couldn't figure out where to go.

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I think this was a really cool entry. I like the game-play ideas you're showing here and the audio

May 1, 2014 @ 2:51am

I liked the story and the sound, some of the platforming elements where frustrating. I ended up playing till I got caught under a ledge and couldnt move.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:04am

This is really cool! I think I got stuck in a place I couldn't jump out of so I couldn't finish it, but I really love the mood, and the whispering was especially creepy.

Hob623 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:22pm

I was pretty confused at the beginning, but after that it was fun. The characters being randomised is a nice touch.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:33pm

interesting little game. libGDX woop!

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty cool stuff. I got stuck though after getting the hood and walking into the building with all those cult members.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Well done! The whispering was really creepy, which is good. haha I like how you introduced "power ups" to the hero. Solid entry. The only thing that annoyed me was when I caught and was not able to run away to get far away of the whispers and then I had to wait and then go back all the way.

Also, thanks for your feedback!

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Nice and quite unique mix between metroidvania and an adventure game!

And a smart approach about the theme too

An inventory and some 'archive folder' (for read the clues again) would be very useful!

Maybe the stealh part need more than just sound... something more visual, perhaps an eye 'opening' above the head?

Anyway, nice game and sorry my bad english xD

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Very nice! I will take a look at libGDX, is seems like it is pretty good.

Jake_Cohen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:11pm

controls were more difficult than they needed to be, the character moved super slowly, and I didn't really see how it fit the theme

May 4, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Have mixed feelings about this one. Content is impressive for 48hrs and there are some nice level design ideas but on the other hand, it needs a bit more polishing I think. Don't understand why touching the hooded guy makes me going back from start for example.

Michael Grand says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I was expecting the spikes in level 2 to kill me: Pleasantly surprised that they didn't XD

It took me a long time to figure out that you can jump higher while sprinting; I'm not sure that was actually mentioned in the controls list.

I like how you handle enemies in this game: rather than deal damage to you directly, it looks like they drain your sanity... Or something? At any rate, definitely an interesting approach.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Impressive content, but maybe a little less content and some more polish would have done some good. I'm not sure what the purpose of *not* sprinting is, and there's a building where you can jump in through the roof which seems buggy--there are a bunch of cultists on the ground level, and a clue above, but even when I jump through the roof, it doesn't trigger entering the building, you have to use the door, which is one-way. I liked that you could explore farther with powerups.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]