Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light and Hate

by wespaugh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Known bug! Occasionally the game will start with a missing player sprite. It's best to just relaunch the game. Also, the game just looks much much better on OSX. No clue why!

The game is an infinite runner about moving on and deciding where to spend your time, thought and energy.

Space to jump, space again to double-jump. When you land on the ground, The One Beneath The Surface mimics your most recent jump.

You must find time and distance yourself from The One Beneath The Surface while doing your best to avoid her getting tumors.

Also! Sorry, OS X version does not include source, sorry! I'm going to include it with windows submission soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Theme3.68
#359Innovation3.36
#465Audio2.90
#530Mood3.00
#646Humor2.31
#876Overall2.86
#891Graphics2.64
#947Fun2.55
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Really liked the way you interpreted the theme. It's really hard to play though...

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Too hard to control, not very intuitive either. But I really like the idea

Lunatic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Can't download the windiws file. Server error

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:05pm

The idea is awesome yet the delayed controls makes it hard to enjoy. And most of the platforms are unreachable.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very hard game, but very nice idea.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

Dont have to include source in the platform distributions, just simply a separate source distribution

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

With more polish, I think the control issues could have been sorted out. It helps to imagine that the player is moving on a sinusoid, and then you can jump over the tumors more easily. Nice job!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I really like the concept of the two characters reacting to each other. Would be cool to see how this turns out with more time to work on it. Nice submission!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very difficult. Also couldn't seem to jump one time on windows?

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Like the use of sound and graphic, the gameplay could use some expanding though since it is just one difficult to time jump repeated over and over. I like that it actually had and ending.

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

I like the way you made it go with the theme. Nice job on the game!

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:32am

Really nice mood in the game

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great idea, and pretty hard to play to :)

On windows 7 - one time, after 5 restart, it stopped responding to keyboard.

May 10, 2014 @ 4:00am

Liked the art but the game is really hard dude.
Looks like one of my games hahaha

quantumpotato says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:04am

Cool art, tricky controls. Interesting trap of going for time when you need to make the bottom jump. Check this game out: http://armorgames.com/play/5870/poto-cabenga

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]