Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grow

by weazen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a tree root. Grow your root as far down as you can, avoiding rocks along the way.

Left and Right arrows or A and D control your root.

How far down can you make it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#227Theme3.64
#384Graphics3.42
#574Overall3.17
#638Innovation2.94
#719Mood2.81
#731Fun2.83
#849Humor2.00

Comments

Druid says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Simple, but pretty catchy game :D Good job!

td1801 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Simple and cool game, I like the mood and the gameplay ! However it get a bit boring.

Guennor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Your game mechanics is similar to mine, but not exactly the same thing, phew.
But good job! I like the graphics.

Sannis says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Its cool but it gets boring.

Root says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Nice game right there. Actually this is the first time I have played anything like this. Cool idea.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

A nice take on the infinite runner genre. 10s in I wanted to hold down and get more points + more speed.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Minimal, I like it! Could be better with some simple audio. Good job!

ccglp says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:35pm

I like the contrast so much!

Zyper says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I like this minimalistic style :)

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Its simple but i like simple

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

Cool game mechanic, would have been nice to see a little more variety though.

ultramailman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16am

I got to 39

letoine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

I liked the idea. Only issue is it relies too much on luck. You can easily get cornered with no way to get out. Would be nice the add some fertilizer to collect on the road, so you can then use them boost the growth and get out of these corners.

ArthurMaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

8/10 Really good but boring and a bit to simple in my opinion.
CHECK OUT MY GAME

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

This is really neat! I saw it quite a few hours early and bookmarked it so I could come back and rate.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice simple game - I like the pixel look. Highest score was 38.

sam101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I liked your game, it's catchy, simple and efficient ! I thought the root was going a little bit too slow, but I guess that's the reason why there is so many things in the way !

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46pm

I liked the art and atmosphere in the game, wish there was a bit more of that to go along with the simple mechanic.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

"Just one more time"

Kep says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

This is the strangest context for a racing avoidance game I've ever seen.
Innovation++

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

Looks solid. Simple and cool gameplay. And my favourite font :D

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Hey I made a root game too - The graphic are simple, organic and pleasing. As other have mentioned, there doesn't seem to be much beyond, well, growing. The rock placement is a little random; sometimes you see that you've been trapped by the environment pretty early up on the screen, but can't do anything to react to it. But the control and movement feels good so I think you've got a good base if you wanted to expand and add some complexity. Highscore 51.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:10am

54 pts. I'd also like to see this expanded upon! The graphics were clean and your rocks actually looked quite good and diverse--but I agree that there's a frequent sense of inevitability (a longer field of vision might help?). On the bright side, your collision detection is excellent! I tried some pretty risky maneuvers to test it out. Well done.

zebi24 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Cool game, I like the graphics style and also really nice little tutorial you've made. Good job! :)

May 11, 2014 @ 10:30am

Wow, very addictive game! :)

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:34am

I've played a few "endless falling" games for LD29, and this one was probably the easiest of the bunch. Something to escalate challenge as you go deeper would help keep things interesting. I found that the color contrast between rocks and dirt was extremely close, and that made it hard to distinguish. Also, I don't know if it was really happening, or just an optical illusion, but it felt like the colors got very gradually, subtly darker as I descended, AND the rocks felt like they were inching closer together as I approached gaps. If that isn't actually happening, it's an interesting psychological phenomenon.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]