Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FALL!

by DanDias - Jam Entry

NOTE: Seems the Web version was not working, so I removed it since I cannot debug it until I get home. Sorry!

A sport, turned game show, FALL! is set on a distant planet. A shaft is drilled through the planet so that contests can free dive through its core. Careful you don't stay too long in the sweltering heat of the core.
(I guess this is just "Practice Mode". I wanted a complete game show aesthetic, but couldn't get around to it and am not an artist.)

Made with CraftStudio. CraftStudio uses XNA/Mono. You need the XNA Redistributable for Windows. I'm not sure about Mac/Linux, sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Innovation(Jam)3.40
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#608Graphics(Jam)2.73
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Ludusamo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Didn't rate yet, because it is not loading for me on the web version? Do you know why this might be?

Van Merwan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Yay, scoring game!

The music makes me think of castles, plotting ambiance ; not very "sporty" or "arcade".

The sound effects are good.

Some accelerators are too near the wall, you can have infinite points if you succeed to block yourself in an infinite loop.

It's hard to tell if an accelerator is going up or down. A color code might be handy.

The spinning bonus is very clever: the player always has something to do.


And most importantly : I liked it. :)

DanDias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

@Ludusamo, I thought it worked when I submitted last night. Looks like it isn't working for me or a friend. I removed the web version since I can't fix it while I'm at work. Thanks for trying though!

@Van Merwan Thanks for playing! The music was a last minute addition; I thought it was better than it being mostly silent. I don't have great sources for royalty free music. :(
I'll think more about the random generation algorithm and themeing the up/down accelerator. There were a few more bonuses that didn't make it in that should add some things to do. I also want to add collectables and more dangerous obstacles. I might also have to pull the camera back a little bit so you can actually see the obstacles better at high speeds.

Rock48 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

Pretty cool, managed to get the high score :)

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Very cubed.. kkk kiddin... I like too much

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Love the music! Nice game

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Pretty fun! As Van Merwan said, it's pretty easy to get into a loop of infinite points, and the spinning bonus is nice. It gets a bit old after a few minutes, though. Perhaps there could be some moving elements to mix things up?

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

Fun on the three first try, then as kirby says, it gets old.
Love the music event if it doesn't really fit the gameplay.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Didn't really like. Not really original

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Didn't really like. Not really original, but good graphics.

awppy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:58am

Game locks up when asking me to submit/not submit. Luckily this did not stop me from actually playing.

It's quite a fun concept, but a little hard to control what with the whole spinning and smashing into things!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:06am

Haha, from the miniature I was so sure it's game about polandball.

Planet core come to fast if you ask me. It took me a while to understand why I'm suddenly going up, or 'oscilating' arount that hot belt (but maybe I'm stupid ;) )

As @Van Merwan said it's little hard to distinguish accelerators.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:12pm

The Linux download gave me a folder with a lot of dll and an exe, but no Linux executable :/

Moosefly says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Yay for leaderboards! Too bad it relied so heavily on RNG though, eventually I got a map where I could've just scored infinitely :P. Simple, but the leaderboards made it at least somewhat fun. The music made it feel really dire too.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]