Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

neon subsurface

by JALgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in about 4 hours, so don't expect it to be to polished.
You cotroll the blue neon ship. But the engine is partially broken, so you can only fly up or down, but not straight forward. Your only hope is to toggle the direction in the right moment. But to keep the engine running, you need to stay beneath THE SURFACE. That's the red/green line in the middle. If you are above, you will loose fuel and below, you'll gain it.
Another danger are big blocks that are in your way and the speed-up panels. But luckily, there are also green panels that speed you down.
TL;DR:
Controls: SPACE = toggle direction
IMPORTANT: If the binaries don't work, that's because some libraries are missing, In that case, try the installer. Or, if you've got MonoGame instaled, compile it yourself.
In that case, if you've got some knowledge of Xamarin, you should be able to get it running on any OS. Windows Phone and Windows RT will be added in the next days, if you've got binaries for another platform, please drop a comment with a link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#340Graphics3.50
#418Mood3.15
#623Theme3.19
#625Overall3.12
#719Innovation2.84
#719Humor2.21
#818Fun2.73
#978Audio1.75
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Cool mechanics .. But found it a bit difficult..

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Quite hard, but fun

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Really like the graphical style. Shame there's no sound (unless it just wasn't working on mine?)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

Ive just clicked your entry because of the thumbnail, the visuals look awesome, really nice and well balanced!

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Pretty good for just 4 hours :) The graphics are very effective. VERY difficult!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

Neat!

tchem says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41am

really cool, i love it,, simple and hard.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Cute idea. Pretty incomprehensible without careful poring through description. Collision detection feels over enthusiastic.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

Anybody liking the graphics style: draw the image in any color over a transparent background, and then in GIMP: Filter->alpha to logo->neon.

JulianMH says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice art style. And quite impressive for 4 hours of work.
By the way, I added the MonoGame version of my game you requested.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Not anything extra, but not anything bad!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

These graphics are like super, freaky, cool and weird!

Love it (no really, I mean it!)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Simple and cool

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

i like the neon style. Great job!

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Nice Idea :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Sorry, I liked the look of the screenshot but afraid I can't play it without a Mac downloadable.

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Cool ambiance, i love that neon effect. But really hard to play. Good work for 4 hours.
PS : zip bomb :(

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13am

Nice job on the graphics.

eastes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:40am

You like Tron. I know you do.

May 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

Damn awesome art and style, really cool.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:15am

The neon aesthetic looks great. My main complaint it that it broke immersion to have the score appear as a pop up alert rather than inside the game.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nice little one-button game, you should totally put this on mobile :D Some sound would be nice though. It took me a while to figure out that I had to stay below the line too (I don't read indications, soz lol). Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]