Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Sadness of Rocky Barbato

by PaperBlurt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Sadness of Rocky Barbato is about an ex porn star.

An OLD porn star, not having the same youthful stamina anymore.
He looks back at his life and sees that he's missing something, that he's been focusing on the surface, instead of looking beneath it - seeing what really matters.

But this drives him a bit crazy unfortunately.

- - - -

Made in Twine and I used Photoshop for all graphics.

Wanted to use graphics, animations and colors as I feel that gives Interactive Fiction games an extra kick, and I really like working with the design portion of a Twine game...

Hope you enjoy it!

- - - -

UPDATE 28/4:

Thanks to eldog who spotted a typo!

- - - -

UPDATE 29/4:

Thanks to Crowbeak who spotted a typo!
I removed an "a".

- - - -

UPDATE 29/4:

Real BIG thanks to Gazok for extensive proofreading!
(as I'm not a native english speaker, some errors and typos manage to slip me by)

- - - -

UPDATE 4/5:

Tweaked the timings a bit, went from 6 seconds to 5 seconds on one part (!)

- - - -

UPDATE 7/5:

Got an e-mail from Phrostylicious who had spotted yet another typo (man I suck at proofreading!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#82Humor3.60
#245Mood3.42
#498Innovation3.14
#517Overall3.21
#587Fun2.98
#676Graphics2.97
#860Theme2.88
#962Audio1.79

Comments

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36am

This is really good! Funny yet awesome to play along with. Good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

I didn't expect something like this to come out of the theme. Really surprising and cool!

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23am

I digged the narrative and the poetry. What a lovely character too.

Great SMS scene.

You've got a "hear" instead of a "here" in there, but that is me just being a smelly spelly.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Nice stylization of things. 'Bout all I have to say on that.

Farfin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

I don't think rocky learned anything!

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41am

very cool, not what I expected. (also the font for Rectum Ranger Heroes is great, which is it? or did you make it yourself?)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Thanks eldog for spotting the typo. Something is always missed it seems!

rylgh: The font is from Google Web Fonts, Trade Winds and Metamorphous is used for Rectum Rangers :)

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

great use of the twine engine! the story was kind of disturbing - but funny. the porn titles made me laugh out loud :)

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

It was pretty interesting. I played until the end at least. I think it felt a bit "railroady" though.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

Man, not sure if there where other paths or something but that was heart wrenching D:

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22am

haha i had some laughs playing this

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52am

Funny, creative and graphically pleasing. Great job!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

A melancholic tale on the surface, and a hilarious one below. Good show!

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

I really liked this, especially the phone conversations between Rocky and God/Satan. Neat.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Isn't this edgy and cool. :)
Really great use of theme, now I know a lot more about retired porn stars.
Love the overall aesthetics!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

wat? This was great. I didn't understand a lot of it, but great anyway.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

got sucked in the story :)

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

I love twine games, another rad one to add to the list. This was well-written and had a good story. And it stayed funny all the way through, always great. Nice job!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Boom! The best!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Heh, that was, um, unusual :) Not a big fan of a text driven adventure games though :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

I just love your entries!
So much enjoyment from such minimalistic delivery.
Also the typos add to the fun. Leave them in man.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

At first I thought, oh no.. one of "these" games. But was pleasantly surprised at the depth of Rockys thoughts! Well done!

Delca says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

I was not expecting something this funny from the theme. Good job!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

Really original xD. Awesome game.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Not what I expected, but nevertheless good. Nice use of graphics and timed scenes. The prose was a bit bland at times, but overall it's pretty well-written.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Funny. But need MOAR..

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Played it a second time: upping my score slightly. The prose works better than I originally thought and, on reflection, it really is a bloody good premise.

chrisamaphone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

what a super weird story! props for your use of twine and extensive content development.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

i love it :))

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

WTF haha, charmingly offensive idea. Never slipped into the role of an ex porn star. Ending was sad somehow.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very cool and visually pleasing.
I like these sort of choose-your-way games.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50pm

ahahahaha very very funny but also got so dark. Nice one 5/5 humor

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

That was unexpected :)

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

This was a really funny, interesting, sad experience. Thank you for this.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

haha I had fun with this. Once I saw Schindler's Fist, I knew I was in for something unique. Good job :)

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

Pure enjoyment

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

I saw a few typos, such as "With an empty fridge you are a too busy to find the time to cook." (Extraneous "a".)

I had trouble identifying with the first part, being female, but it was interesting. Lots of good storytelling techniques used.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

Not bad. Full of cliches.
Its pretty cool that you can replay parts of the game by changing the URL.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

Haha that was fun! Love the art style

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

That is great! Nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

Like how the story told. Not sure if Twine support sound, but it would be great if some background sounds are added. :)

AmmoreChicks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

Ah, ah! A little bit extreme but very original! I saw a lot of Twine functions I didn't know...

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

It started funny then it got sad, but it got me following the mood trough out. Exquisite narrative.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Had a good laugh, thank you

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44pm

haha i like it ..well done man :)

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

ARRIBA

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Funny? You guys are fucked up man! It was awesome. Thouugh, the end did make me lol out loud. That's a lot of lolols.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Great stuff. Well executed choose your own adventure book that Chuck Palaniuk would probably enjoy. Nice work! Great visual style considering it was 90% text

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

That was so well done. Disturbing, thoughtful and funny in a black-humoured way. Really nice work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I normally dont like text stuffs but this one is good, really well written, it catches you. Great game!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Woah, that was deeper than expected. Kudos!

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Something about the minimalist presentation really drew me in

The ending was a bit unexpected!

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

"i have a fucking galaxy to run." LOL

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Well, that was pretty cool! Well-written and humorous, with a few really surprising scenes (especially heaven and hell). And the best thing: Great execution! I don't think I've ever seen a Twine game that had so many changes in style - and all of them fit well here. Really good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Kind of a weird/funny game. I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

v3games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:38am

Your rating is more than the sum of its parts. It's a good idea though.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07am

Thanks for all comments so far!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26am

lol wut

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31am

Poor Rocky! Very nice entry! Finished 2 paths, I don't know if there is more but I'll keep playing to find out!

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice game!

Love the God on cellphone ;p~

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I listened to Lovage http://youtu.be/Od8FfT1U820 while playing this. Once the talking stops it works pretty well.

The piano intro song kicked in just as I clicked onto the highway.

The game is fantastic. Your use of colour is perfect and the pacing is brilliant. Every time I play one of your games I think I really want to make something like this but I just don't have the skills!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00pm

I've always wanted to go to *spoiler* !

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Pretty neat for the first bit, but it kind of lost me when he tries to steal a kid. And then I think I got stuck in the guard's office, trapped by the number of choices.

Gazok says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Hey, thanks for pointing out broken images on my game. Now to return the favour :P

At http://rocky.paperblurt.com/#1l.3.p.a.b.c , "resides" "needs" and "hits" shouldn't have those 's's.
http://rocky.paperblurt.com/#1l.3.p.a.b.c.t.1q.f.c.1g should be "fridge has been"
http://rocky.paperblurt.com/#1l.3.p.a.b.c.t.1q.f.c.1g.s.c.1p.o.7.1m "lived has given", "elderly existence"
http://rocky.paperblurt.com/#1l.3.p.a.b.c.t.1q.f.c.1g.s.c.1p.o.7.1m.1f.1e.5.1e "just not to oblige you"

As for the rest of the game, "Schindler's Fist."
That is all.
But seriously, I really liked a lot of the jokes.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:19am

Humorous and awesome, I just wish it were longer

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Hahaha, I didn't expect this. Great one :)

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Lol!

madflame991 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:51am

Funny and sad story with some nice graphics. One of the few text adventures I've played to the end. Arriba!

jacklehamster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I'm rarely into text based game, but this one drew me in. The story was somewhat interesting, and the pace didn't feel monotonous. Nice job!

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Ariba! (I let 'm go)

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Humorous, sad, then creepy. But you kept me involved in the story from start to finish. I didn't expect much when I started, but I was sure shown what for - good job! :)

May 5, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Unique, involving story, and great use of colour and graphics. A bit linear, but you can't have everything.

Definitely one of your best games. (I may have enjoyed "Alone/Awake" more, but that's because I'm more of a science fiction fan. This story has better visuals, though.)

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:56pm

A very interesting mix of funny and sad. The visuals really add a lot of flare.

edibletoaster says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:01am

Well done

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Unexpected and well written.
An interesting interactive story.

Good job on making it and submitting to the compo !

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:05am

Interesting. The artwork and overall style was very nice. I'm not used to playing games in silence, but it worked for well for this game.

cageinabird says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I always find myself underestimating and then being super impressed by the ingenious stuff people can do in Twine. I really ought to try it some day...

This was, in turns, bizarre, darkly comic, disturbing, surreal, pathos-inducing, and probably more adjectives that I haven't learned yet. :D I agree with the person who saw similarities with this and Chuck Palahniuk's work, and I sensed a bit of Hunter S. Thompson in there too in the way the story itself seemed to go off-road and make a dash for the border (probably to bat country). I'm just glad I'm came along for the ride! :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Everyone's said everything that can be said about this game, methinks. Gross and hilarious while never losing its heart.

May 19, 2014 @ 2:49pm

hej PaperBlurt!

synd att du inte kunde spela mitt spel, det blev ju lite annorlunda den här gången, hade ont om tid, en bra idé som inte funkade i Twine, och en kompis som kan programmera. men det blir säkert nya Twine-spel i framtiden.

ditt spelade jag däremot, och det är jag glad för! du har verkligen lyckats få till nya sätt att använda programmet på som känns fräscha och intressanta och bidrar till upplevelsen. du är dessutom lyckats väldigt bra med humorn här, speciellt tajmingen är toppen. bra jobbat!

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Not sure categories like "fun" really apply to this game, but that you for this... "experience"? Something strangely profound a melancholic, but also very funny on occasion. I'm not sure I have the emotional intelligence to did that far into it, but it gave me a moments pause and quite contemplation about life the universe and everything, even if I'm not sure I understood exactly why it did. Good job sir :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]