Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Damn It, Rabbit !

by okkolobr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For the Web version : You sometime have to switch tab in your browser and get back so that the button "Play" works.

First LD, hope I haven't break the rule without knowing it. I was going for the 72 hours, but have something ready after 48h, so I guess I can submit now :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#240Humor3.02
#340Fun3.29
#357Theme3.48
#402Innovation3.29
#520Graphics3.22
#544Overall3.19
#588Mood2.95
#898Audio2.02

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice idea!

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Great idea! Loved the wee rabbit running around underneath the farmer.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

I love it! Super cute, and that Damn Rabbit! Nice addictive gameplay, adheres to the theme, and very different!

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I really enjoyed this. A simple action/gardening game that feels like an 80's arcade game. With some nice music, tweaks for the stats (they are kind of hard to spot) and some overall polish this would be a pretty decent game =)

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Great idea, and the graphics were great for the time frame

FelipeTavares says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Great implementation! Nice art _*

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Pretty fun, would have liked to have more choice in how to plant the carrots, considering the rabbit is pretty damned fast and the window of time to grab the fully grown ones was small. Highscore 620. Nice job :)

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Damn that rabbit indeed!

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Fun game.

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

was relaxing to play (in a good way)

Stuffie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great job ! A little annoying at first but once I got used to the controls (and realised I had to keep going and getting seeds) it was really fun.

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Nicely done!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

KERRERTS ! My score : 1120 ! Good job, but maybe need a little variation. Nice gameplay however :)

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30pm

F*cking rabbit, cool idea.

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really good idea! I had fun with it!

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Damm it rabbit! Leave me alone! :D Pretty fun, thanks!

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Argh! I hate this rabbit. Nice idea

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58pm

love the farmer sprite. sick stache

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

nice game! really fun.

01101101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

That was awesome ^^ Lots of fun!
I love that the controls are not too precise, the art is really good and the concept works well.
Background music would have been a cool addition but other than that I can't find a flaw :)
Great job for this LD, maybe the first of a long series ^^

Catmoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

I really enjoyed it, there should be more rabbit games!

Getting the timing right on picking up the carrots before the rabbit eats them was great!

Shame there was no audio but otherwise I really enjoyed it, good game entry especially for your first LD game! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Liked the design and it was a neat little game. I found it a little boring but overall good entry!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

This game has humor. I like the rabbit running and eating the carrots away. Good game for your first LD!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Liked the idea. Great rabbit sprite too! I was slightly disappointed not to be able to play as the rabbit, but then I'm a rabbit person. Good fun.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I planned to had the "play as rabbit" post-compo. Just wait and see :)
Oh, and a HUGE thank you for all your comments everyone !!

Garris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

Fun little game. You've made me hate rabbits xD It took me a bit to figure out what I was doing, but this is pretty addictive once you understand how it works. Damn rabbit. . .

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:39am

Ah! Nice idea, that was refreshing. Controls could probably be better, but this is a nice, simple and effective idea. :)

May 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

Fun idea! I like the day/night cycle and the title nailed it!

elefantopia says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:30am

Fun game with cute graphics of rabbits and partially eaten carrots. Great work!

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Very simple, but very cute & fun. It took me a minute to realize I had to go back and fill up on seeds (thought it was broken at first).

Maybe work on making the farmer snap to the carrot locations? Landing on them perfectly made it harder than it otherwise needed to be.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:26am

cool idea but the controls are kind of - meh - it was really fun - nice job

okkolobr says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:47am

Looks like controls really bugged a lot of you. Will definitely have a look to it in the future version of this game (and all of my future games).

Thanks for pointing that !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]