Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Ice Pond

by Vytheros - Jam Entry

A text-based adventure game built in Python for Ludum Dare #29

All explanations on what to do are in the game, you just have to read what is given to you and interpret it, although checking 'help' first is advised.

Update 06/05/2014: Working on developing a 2D version with a pixelated style and more expansive gameplay


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#494Humor(Jam)2.26
#594Innovation(Jam)2.52
#641Theme(Jam)2.52
#649Mood(Jam)2.45
#726Fun(Jam)2.04
#726Overall(Jam)2.32

Comments

soulrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

To be honest I had no idea what to do. After starting the game (typing "start") I typed all commands from the help, in all combinations I could possibly think of, but the only thing not giving me a "not a valid command" was typing "inventory" :/

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25am

I was an embryo when some of the greatest text adventures were made, but - suffice to say - my little half-formed amoebic brain at the time would have enjoyed them just as much. Good old DOS!

This text adventure is alright, but could have been more fully-formed. I didn't finish it - game progression was poorly signaled and commands could have been more intuitive. Also a lot of inconsistent grammar all around the place, like sentences without full stops leaving me hanging

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

It really sucks that I couldn't get past the Ice Pond...
maybe provide bit more hints?

eldog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Would it be possible for a linux version?

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Couldn't get past the first screen, but maybe I'm just really stupid.

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Great job finishing your first Ludum Dare, but I couldn't figure out which commands worked where, except for the tree climbing one. Maybe have a command for a list of intractable objects in the area?

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Nice work, but I couldn't get past the tree. It said there was a blunt, metallic object in the nest, but I couldn't for the life of me get at it. I tried take object, metallic object, blunt metallic object, nest, hammer, and a few others. Also, the help function no longer works after the title screen. It's obvious that you put some work into this and it could be really cool if it was fleshed out a bit more.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

Look forward to hopefully playing the Mac port when it's done. Intrigued by the mention of Worksop on the screenshot, that's not far down the road from me!

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01pm

@Jeffalisk I only mentioned it as I had to idea of what area to have it set in, and there is actually a woods near by with a pond so yeah...

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I didn't like it. Text based games are not my favourite. It also does neither have graphics nor audio, so...

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Sadly text adventures are far beyond me, I wish there were command instructions in a readme file I could refer to.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53am

Great idea!!!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:27am

old school text game for REAL!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:42am

Extra space, or new line character after 'what you want to do' would be great.

Too bad it seems to be no distinction about command you can't use at time, and invalid command.

Also I go north from the starting point and well... I couldn't do anythink: 'south' was printing newline, and other commands were invalid. Too bad :(

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:28pm

I love text adventures, but unfortunately this one was so unresponsive that I couldn't progress, even after reading the Help info. The writing could also use some editing. Might check it out again if there's a post-comp update with some fixes.

hirngespinst says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:16am

I am sorry but it was so hard to find out what commands in what combination were expected, that I gave up despite me liking text adventures quite a bit. I can see that creating a parser and creating enough responses so the game is accessible in such a hard time must be very challenging but the game as it is right now was very frustrating for me.

Here is an example of how it went for me:

description ends with: "Near your feet there is a small, neatly arranged pile of dirt"

What do you want to do? look at pile of dirt

That is not a valid command

What do you want to do?look pile of dirt

That is not a valid command

What do you want to do? search pile of dirt

That is not a valid command

What do you want to do? take pile of dirt

That is not a valid command

...

Basically: the pile of dirt was mentioned in a way that I epxected to be able to interact with it right now - but none of the verbs mentioned in the help section, nor any combination I could think of did lead to a result. There were mor secens like that, so I gave up.

That is not a valid command

What do you want to do?

That is not a valid command

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]