Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cemetery Secretary

by Bekokstover - Jam Entry

THIS SURE BEATS DIGGING THROUGH FILES.

You're the secretary at a cemetery, and have to document all the bones in this graveyard. Use tactics to avoid ghosts and specters that dwell underground, and recover as many bones in one piece as you can, before returning to the office!

Controls:
- arrow keys to move
- X to interact (HOLD for a few seconds to document the bones!)

TOUGH, but fair. If you learn the behavior and probable location of the enemies, you can do this!

Tips:
- bones are always buried underneath a gravestone
- ghosts appear somewhere above buried bones
- specters appear somewhere next to bones
- don't make the bones fall from too high, or they'll break!

Code & design & graphics by me.
All sound: public domain from FreeSound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#84Overall(Jam)3.72
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#112Humor(Jam)3.38
#117Theme(Jam)3.69
#186Mood(Jam)3.48
#208Audio(Jam)3.42
#291Graphics(Jam)3.58
#338Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

CemeterySecretary.app.zip seems to contain only resources folder, with no app.

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19am

I wish this worked on windows man, looks nice!

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Windows version live!

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

@robert_steiner : thanks - will look into that.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I tried downloading and opening it from the link, and it seems to work fine. If anyone else has issues, please let me know.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice puzzles and good use of the theme.

pLaw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I like the mood and your take on the theme. The introduction letter made me chuckle :)
Also, nice graphics and audio.

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I like it a lot! It took me a while to get the proper behaviour when a ghoul spawns right on me (run back, don't dig!), but once I did, it wasn't that hard to finish anymore.

The graphics are great, especially with the neat little animations. Good choice of color.

Oh, and the messages are a lovely humorous touch! :D

PS: Uh, thanks for the skeleton. I have a present for you too: http://lackadaisy.foxprints.com/exhibit.php?exhibitid=368

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Thanks! And thanks for the... thing.. I guess. :)

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Fantastic! The title screen looks sweet, by the way.

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I like the humor of this little game. Nice graphics and fun to play for short. Thanks!

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great humor and style. And more game to it than appears at first. I like how they send a letter to a dead man... tsk tsk bureaucrats :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

The idea is just great!! Really great humour and super polished. Great entry!

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:22am

Interesting game, really nice aesthetic.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice little game, I would have loved to see 1 or 2 more levels :D

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

The difficulty was good for me. The game reminded me of the ghost in Spelunky. Even though it is quite simplistic, it is well polished and already a lot of fun. It would be cool maybe if there were more types of enemies.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Thx all. The ghost was indeed inspired by Spelunky. More types of enemies is a good idea. I also wanted a burrowing type of enemy, that moves down to you, and excavates dirt. Alas, no more time :) As to more levels: I'd rather make this one level more dynamic procedurally.

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Awesome game! Very original, and the mood is a great mix of eerie, but light-hearted. The art is perfect for this, and a very appropriate soundtrack as well. Loved it!

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I love the graphical quality of this game. Great work!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20am

nice looking and funny game!

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29am

okay. now I also managed to win this game, haha!
really got scared a bit when I had all bones and had to escape the monsters. well done :)

May 2, 2014 @ 5:50pm

More Levels!!! :P

td1801 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

A very cool game but a hard one x)

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Great gameplay! felt like i was 10 with my snes again :)
Liked that the bones and skull monsters both fell and died! :D

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:02am

Great overall game. Reminded me a lot of the arcade classic Dig Dug. Would definitely have liked to play more levels. Very nice work! :)

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:40am

This is great! The art style is well done, and it's full of character. I like how the different things you find require different strategies to deal with.

May 8, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Nice! I like the little details like being able to mess it up breaking the bones :D

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Very cool gameplay !

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very fun game! The sounds were cemetery-creepy. Not sure it was necessary to give the secretary a bald spot, funny though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]