Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Submarine

by Slader16 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gold Submarine - Find all of the Gold pieces to win!
Use "WSAD" to move around





Made in 47 Hours!
Created by: Collin Clifton

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#483Mood3.06
#559Audio2.78
#759Theme3.03
#1022Humor1.67
#1064Graphics2.35
#1127Fun2.24
#1161Overall2.44
#1226Innovation1.91

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

It's cute, and I found it very relaxing. The slow pacing, and gradual controls make just moving around and exploring feel pretty satisfying.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08am

Really empty, but I always like the feel of being a ship exploring the depths.

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10am

I thought that the feel was really good, the simple audio and the "big, slow" feel to the controls conveyed the underwater/driving a submarine feel pretty well. Nicely done!

I guess it's kind of nitpicky but I didn't like that you could jump out of the water, it felt a bit wrong to me, especially since you start close to the surface it's easy to accidentally jump out of the water and it felt weird.

Overall nice feel!

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

The sky looks nicer than the underwater tiles, but the game is ok. I did a circle around the map and missed a few gold pieces, and didn't really want to go around again to figure out where I hadn't been.

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

The basic gameplay is too shallow even for 48 hours. Sorry. Are levels generated procedurally? If so, then its a little bit better.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

:) Feels rewarding, you should are more stuff to the game.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Very nice feel to the game!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

Great mood. The gameplay was lacking, but considering everything, the game still managed to evoke some feeling of serenity with the smooth controls and lovely music.

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

Super chill, I like how the sound changes when you jump out of the water, nice touch!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

It has a nice feel to it, and the music fits quite well (even though it's a very short loop - could have maybe put a slow bassline under it). There are some nice touches like the sound changing above the surface, but some extra little bits of juice would have really helped the feel (e.g. maybe off the walls a little instead of just stopping).

It could be a good idea in a game like this to add more coins than the player actually needs to collect. That way they aren't left searching every inch of the level for the last coin.

It has potential!

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Thanks so much guys for all of the comments, I really appreciate it!

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Very nice music mathing game :) I relaxed.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Very simple, but in my opinion a bit too simple (is there endles oxygene in that submarine?). Anyway, the music is awesome!

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

It is very cute.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Cute and calming. Sounds and music was nice :)

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:39pm

The music got repetitive quickly, but I think that with a long, evolving ambient track instead, the beauty in the simplicity would this a great casual game.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:02pm

The game feels a bit "empty". I think some traps (like mines) and a few cosmetic elements, like fish swimming around and bubbles going up, would solve that. The controls are good, though.

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:13am

A bit lacking on the challenge/complexity side, but very relaxing :)

JordanFitz says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:38am

The controls were a little weird to get used to, but other than that, cool game.

May 11, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Simple but well done game. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]