Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chacket Valleyparker: DRILL BUNNY

by stvr - Jam Entry

Hi there! We are DREAM SHOW ADVENTURES and we made Chacket Valleyparker: DRILL BUNNY for this Ludum Dare. Chacket knows nothing but drillin'. That's all he cares about. You are Chacket. Don't let your drill overheat!

Directions:

Space to start. Use left and right arrows to move Chacket. Press Space to boost, as long as you have boost available. Grab carrots for an awesome powerup! Grab gems to amass wealth. Rocks and lava will slow you down and make your drill overheat. Avoid them!

About:

The engine is Phaser, and the game is written entirely in JavaScript and playable in-browser. All code was by Steve Richey (aka STVR), all art was by Andrew Agulto (aka Ninspriterx) except for the apples which Steve's kids drew. Sound was done with BFXR. Our music guy dropped out so we used some of Andrew's old (great) unused music.

We'd really love to add more to this sometime. Let us know what you liked or did not like! Or if you have ideas/requests/bugs!

Known issues:

- Fonts may not load correctly for everyone.
- Sounds may not load in Internet Explorer.

Post-jam changes:

- Made a small change to fix font loading issues.
- Made some changes to the way sounds and images are loaded to reduce load times and fix sounds for IE and Safari.
- Added mobile support. Try it on your phone!

Some things we didn't get to:

- Upgrade store
- Worms
- Moles

Okay, thanks for playing!

Credits:

Code: Steve Richey aka STVR (www.steverichey.com)
Art: Andrew Agulto aka Ninspriterx (http://ninspriterx.tumblr.com/)

Check us out at www.dreamshowadventures.com!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Audio(Jam)4.01
#57Fun(Jam)3.72
#68Overall(Jam)3.76
#81Theme(Jam)3.78
#107Graphics(Jam)4.16
#149Humor(Jam)3.20
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#453Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

This is really the best-looking game for the jam I've seen yet! The sprites look great and the music sounded really good. I love the start animation!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Sweet game, it feels smooth and the graphics are nice, most of my points goto theme and audio. Wish we could do something with the money though. Great job.

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Reminds me of the mario party 1 digging game. nice music!

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

The game looks, 'hears' and feels nice. It is not very challenging, however. I felt like I could go on and on without ever overheating the drill.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

This is really solid all around. Great game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

This looks really great :)
Coins sometimes spawn on top of the boulders, although that doesn't matter that much since there's plenty of others left :P
I love the music btw!

metjm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

very polished game with great sound and graphics. i like it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very cool, felt really good to play. Good work!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

This is a really great game. I can totally see playing this on my phone. Too easy in this iteration, but you all have something really good on your hands.

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Really solid, nice presentation.

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Highly polished game, and fun to play. Very impressive.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08pm

The game looks really nice and also the music is catchy.
The gameplay is good but a bit unchallenging.

With some more enemies it would be even more fun I think.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Good game and really good graphics

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12pm

This is really a nice game, with very sweet graphics and sound. Thank you.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Love the music !

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very nice little game! It seems like you had a great idea from the start and you stuck to it, so I applaud you for that. The game itself is a little easy, at 20,000m down I still had no problem. It seems like your idea for worms and moles could fix that issue, though. Still, a very fun little game! And props for using phaser :D

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Wow ! That game is sooo relaxing and simple and awesome ! Its one of the greatest games i've played on this ludum dare so far, you've done a really great job. I could imagine myself playing this repeatedly on the bus, trying to beat my friend's scores haha

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Wow ! Nice game, very funny :D

Pent says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

The carrot powerup should give the ability to make sharp turns ;-D

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

nicely done! the graphics are great and the gameplay is fun, what more could you ask for? :)

Valandre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

a very good game, lots of fun!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32pm

great artwork and fun to play :)

KeyMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Really nice game, good graphics and audio! The fuel didn't work though, so no challenge :/

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice game with great art and music. Love it.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Fun game, but I literally had to /try/ to die. Definitely too easy. I like that you made it so you had to tap instead of just holding keys to change direction. I don't know why but I did. Increasing your rotation speed when you were boosting would have made it more viable.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

fun, but the audio wasn't working for me (Safari)

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

Great game!, very addictive, love the dynamic terrain, feels as if it could be a great fit on mobile devices:)

Kara Jayde says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:14am

This is awesome. Great art and sfx, smooth gameplay, simple and effective. Nice work.

jotson says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Fun game, very nice animations and graphics. Really liked the feel of the controls.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:15pm

One of the best looking game yet, it could almost be a full mobile game like ridiculous fishing. It lacks real challenge yet but it's relaxing. Killer music also ! Awesome job !

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:23am

Very good game!

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:08am

Ok, smooth gameplay, and that music.. Insta-fav! :)

end3r says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Nice looking game with cool gameplay.

Gins says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:54am

Starts out really great, I like the mechanics. Getting a carrot feels really satisfying, and I like that you can drill through the rocks and the lava at the cost of overheating, although once these simple rules are figured out the game loses all of its challenge.

But considering the time constraints, you've put together a cool prototype of what could be an addictive game eventually :)

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:42am

First time I saw a lava pool I thought it was gold and died trying to dig it up. Oh well...

Nice game though, especially liked the visuals and music. The difficulty curve could use some work, as I didn't actually notice the game getting harder even after playing for a while.

ninjascript says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:44pm

I love the music! for some reason my brain wanted left to be right and vis-a-versa.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I enjoyed playing this. The carrot power up is really good fun. The art is great. I like the meters!

May 6, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Amazing work!!! An endless digger. This is fantastic! Top marks for graphics, fun and mood!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:03am

Fantastic! I love the sprites and animation, and the gameplay is simple and fun! I loved the ending music, but was missing music during the actual gameplay. Other than that, great job!

May 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Lovely music! And overall good game.

There is some weird translations to spanish in the title screen though. Where in english reads "drill bunny" to me it shows "conejito de perforación" which sounds really weird, like google translated :P A better translation would be "conejito perforador" or in case the meaning was imperative it'd be "perfora conejito" like in drill bunny, drill.

Also instead of "press space" I get "presione inicio" which is even weirder because that's a different key altogether (inicio means start) and had me pressing random keys for a bit to find which one was I supposed to press. There it should say "pulsa espacio" ;)

May 10, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Very good entry, very polished and great gamefeel ! The only thing that could be improved imo is the difficulty curve, maybe to slow

local minimum says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:23am

Nice game with well structured random placement of obstacles. I like having the restriction on how far you can turn like that so it becomes hard to avoid all rocks and the carrots were fun.

However, I think the game was a little too easy for much to long. I killed myself 7000m down because difficulty was increasing too slowly for it to feel challenging.

I think you forgot to put the nice music on repeat by the way, because about 5-6000m down it stopped.

If the drill could take damage it was very little happening to the meter. Drilling through the rocks I only heated up.

So to sum up. I think the game needs to escalate in difficulty faster but other than that, it was a really nice little game.

Miltage says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Fantastic, I love the feel of the controls. I noticed some issues with the rendering of texture edges.

I reached 15227m on my first run - I played so long that the music ended before I died.

snooze82 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:54pm

nice little game, love the gfx.

stvr says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Thank you everyone for your comments! Sorry about the difficulty, not enough time and all that. But I think this might not be the last you see of Chacket Valleyparker!

King_Mew says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:44am

I love the music. It's so amazing. Oh maaaan, it's so great. The rest of the game is solid, though a bit easy.

Afal says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Cute character. I feel bad for the bunny when it dies :(

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:18pm

liked the sprites, sounds, and overall the whole damn game, great job! And hello to a fellow Phaser-User :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]