Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground City Defender

by Switchbreak - Jam Entry

An HTML5/Javascript game. You live in a city underground in a cave connected to the pin retrieval area of the Desert Flower Bowling Alley and Arcade Fun Complex. A parade of hooded figures is coming to steal your child-king, so you must marshal your armies and defend against them.

Code: Switchbreak (http://switchbreak.net)
Music: Pneuman (http://wootangent.net)
Art: MadCow & DeadBird

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#358Audio(Jam)3.11
#458Mood(Jam)2.92
#477Humor(Jam)2.30
#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75
#624Overall(Jam)2.73
#641Theme(Jam)2.52
#649Fun(Jam)2.34

Comments

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

I couldn't figure out how to survive the first wave. I'm guessing I'm supposed to collect the resources to build more soldiers? But the button to build more never appeared, and the lone soldier I had couldn't fend off all the hooded figures that show up. Instructions are important!

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

That's a fair point snapman_GT :)

I've gone and added some instructions to the page, I was a bit to sleep deprived yesterday to get those written. Hopefully that makes it less confusing!

FGM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

Nice little RTS. Only thing though is there are very limited resources.

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

I like the idea of a tower defense game where you can move around, but I think the first waves should be a little easier.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Pretty neat once I figured out how to control everything, but then I forgot to leave a soldier free to pick up resources so I got stuck.

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

I really like it

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

Very difficult -- with some balance and simple unit AI (that automatically attack/gather resources), this could be really fun.

Great music!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Whenever I built a bunker the hooded figures just walked around it & it wasn't clear how I could create more soldiers.

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57am

like everyone has said, took a while to figure the game out, but once i got rolling it was a pretty fun take on tower-defense. I liked that you had to manage going out and getting resources and defending the base. I wish you got money for completeing the waves, or killing dudes. As i eventually ran out of crystals to harvest and got screwed. Nice entry though :D

May 1, 2014 @ 2:52am

I like it but it's pretty hard. I kept dying on the first wave. Great music!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:53am

I ran out of resources pretty early on, from that point I pretty much just sat and waited until I died on wave 5. It would have been nice to have more to work with.

ocmu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:58am

I really enjoyed this. It took a lot of trial and error to learn how to survive the first couple waves (is it possible to beat wave 3??), but I found it really easy to control and fun to upgrade. It'd be nice if more resources spawned : )

Decent art, and pretty good music to boot. I like the hotkey setup and ability to do mouse control as well. Great job overall!

unprompted says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:37am

I almost made a game about a podcast about community radio, too.

jellyfishlion says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:52pm

It's a cool game, but I had a bit of trouble figuring out the controls at first. Overall I think it certainly has potential. Good job! :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:25am

I don`t know if I`m missing something but I died in the first round, it`s was very dificcult to kill the monsters.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:50am

Aww man this is hard as hell.
But I like the combo of like mining and survival shooter.

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Interesting game concept! It took me a few attempts to understand the game, even with the instructions. But then it was great fun, so it would be nice to have a small tutorial to get faster into the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]