Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

OMNOMNOM

by brogrammers - Jam Entry

>jellyfish floating
>in turbulent sea currents
>beware tentacles

>sting ray flapping by
>vast oceans you do cross
>in your endless quest
- a profound haiku. like our game.



OMNOMNOM! Eat fish, get bright!

how to play: use arrow keys or WASD to move your fish.
'H' key to bring up the tutorial screen/pause the game.
Spacebar to boost.

Eat the fishes to gain souls to spend on upgrades. Be careful: you can eat a fish only if you are big enough to cover it completely with your body.

The deeper you go, the weirder the fishes you can find!
Every time you eat a fish, you'll be given some light and some souls depending on its size and type.

Light is your life, and it is represented by the bar at the bottom of the screen: if it reaches 0, you are forced to get back to the surface, losing all the souls you have. Luckily, if you touch the surface, you'll have your light completely replenished!

//////////////////

Eat smaller fishes and upgrade, then dive deep into the ocean, bearing your useful head-light, and discover hidden wonders.

///////////////

language: javascript + three.js
graphics: photoshop
music: gxscc, 9th symphony by Beethoven (Beethoven himself gave us permission to use his music).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#94Graphics(Jam)4.20
#138Theme(Jam)3.64
#147Mood(Jam)3.59
#182Audio(Jam)3.48
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#313Fun(Jam)3.09
#388Innovation(Jam)2.98

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Just a sound file? :(

Melondonut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:24pm

The graphics are cool!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19am

Swimming backwards?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

All I get is a sound file and a blue/green background.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

Cool graphics

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

Pretty simple as a game, but beautiful art! Well-made music for 48-hours as well.

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

Really like the art style and concept. The tutorial in the beginning is an information bomb of text over other text. But the thing that killed this game the most is the fact the happy music does not match the mood at all.

Overall a fun concept with potential!

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36am

I like the song of this game and the graphics remind me of paper mario. Good work.

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:41am

Looks promising, but unfortunately the movement mechanics are very cumbersome and force the player to mash buttons. There's a little problem with fridge logic, too: why would an anglerfish have to swim up to the surface to live/breathe? Other than that, w00t for the awsum 3D and Beethoven's 9th Symphony (2nd movement)!

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Cool! Something reminded Little Big Planet)

lerrigatto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

AMAZING! :D

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Very beautiful. Hope more people use Three.JS next time when they see this sort of quality!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

I like the paper cutout style of the graphics, really interesting. Pretty simple game, but the sense of style makes it more interesting.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Very awesome game! Really cool art style and fun to play

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:35am

Cool, haven't played much like it. If you're only seeing the audio clip, try a different browser (i.e. Chrome)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

decent game, but after a few minutes I began to ask myself "where is the point of the game?" Aside from eating fish and getting larger, and potentially purchasing all upgrades (which is all very easy to do) I didn't feel much motivation to continue playing after dying

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

Cool

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23am

Really like the cutout look of it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34am

I like the art style and the music a lot! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44am

Nice game and I liked the paper cut out style but didn't think it went with the other style of the waves and boxes. Would have liked to see that cut out paper style carried throughout.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Nice art and fun gameplay.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice stuff! I did like the visuals you got out of my browser! Good job!

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Gorgeous game!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:59am

- Interesting game!
- I love the paper style, but making the fish flip would be better than backflipping him haha
- I love the music
- AWESOME UI!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Cool!
Gorgeous Graphics and songs! I Played just to enjoy all this things ^^
But when you are near the surface and walk sideways, it looks like you are standing and the scenery is moving ...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Interesting and fresh style. Love visual and mood!

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice graphics, and I like the switched-on-Beethoven! But it seemed to lack enough game play elements to keep me interested.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Pretty good graphics for 72 hours. However the tutorial is a little over crowded.

Also nice if this was pure js + three.js. (This seems the case given the music player :D)

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Really fun game, and the graphics and music are fantastic too!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:18am

Up side down fish? Interesting... Nice game, looks promising.

raulincze says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:36am

Oh noo! The big fish of death caught me! That's what I get for swimming in hell. Really fun game!

May 5, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Very very fun! The rendition of the 9th Symphony was so much like Wendy Carlos. I stayed playing just for that after a point! Also, fantastic upgrade system <3

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:10am

Great entry, I especially like the graphics. The controls and the UI was a bit tough to understand in the beginning, afterwards the game was fun to play. But I would like to see some more challenging game play.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]