Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Anett

by KumoKairo - Jam Entry

Left click to pick up the crystal (walk close to it) Once you get one crystal, you'll be able to shoot The game has several different levels, there are climbing walls after the first one. To climb up the wall, walk close to it and hit space. Once you've grabbed, you can move left and right. You can also get up and down (W and S respectively) You can't pass the level if you didn't get the crystal Unfortunately we didn't have time to implement these tips in game.. You play as a little girl Anett, who seeks the cure for her mother in these mysterious caves

-----------------------
3D art, lighing and animations (a few clips borrowed from open source projects) - Artem Filippov
Programming - Cyrill Nadezhdin (I know I could do better)
Sounds - RealPoc
Main musical theme - Alexander Khizov

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#65Audio(Jam)3.88
#114Mood(Jam)3.70
#142Graphics(Jam)4.02
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#359Theme(Jam)3.18
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83
#598Humor(Jam)1.92

Comments

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Love the visual style.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28am

Stellar! Love the colors and the mood, and really appreciate the instructions on controls beneath the Unity player.

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

Very impressive graphics and animations. The music is wonderful. I had fun running around the world.

The gameplay was a bit confusing, as I thought the white orbs were my friends but it seemed like they were killing me.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Cool art and good graphics. Excellent music, possibly my favorite part of the game. I couldn't see the controls on my screen though, was I missing something? I feel like I'm supposed to do something with the torch at the beginning. Couldn't seem to get past the wisps.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Very great and alternative take on a shooting game :D

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

TeamPurpleDolphins, you need to left click while near the stone (torch) to pick it up to be able to finish the level.

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Love the look and feel - and also really like the control scheme!

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

Visuals were really nice, character movement also felt pretty good for a LD entry. The wisps moved a little fast, or were just too difficult to hit though.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Awesome track.

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Graphics are amazing! I really enjoy the music as well, really sets the mood well. I fell through the wall to the left when approaching the green crystal

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Health bar plz

Gorgeous though :) really impressed

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25am

I really like how it feels to be inside the game world, such a good mood for the story. Couldn't tell that the white orbs were trying to hurt me, didn't understand what was happening when I died(?) and the game reset me back to where I started. I think it could use better visual feedback for taking damage.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

It's very pretty, but there are some things I miss. I miss having a visible lifebar, or some indication of how much life I have left (if it is one-hit kill... okay, I don't know).
I miss knowing where I'm shooting at, and/or how far my shot goes.
And yeah, that's it.

I like the art style, the sounds, and it's a pretty interesting game.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

Ah! About my previous comment, I feel like an idiot, I just noticed that I shoot to where the mouse points. I don't know where was I pointing to before LOL. One thing less to my missing list then!

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

It is our fault to be honest, we didnt have to implement UI and hints on controls :)

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Didn't have time I mean!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Can't pass the 3rd level, but great mood anyway

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00am

Wow, that's the girliest set of polygons! Good job!

I fell through the world though, left of the first ledge you have to climb, right before the 2nd crystal.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56am

Woah, amazing job on the visuals, animations and sound! The animations in particular are incredible! I find controlling the character with the keyboard and shooting with the mouse to be a little difficult, I would prefer to have complete control with the keyboard or the possbility to move the screen with the mouse. Wonderful mood, good job!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

cool graphics!

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31pm

LIked the control scheme but maybe there should be a way to move a bit faster. Good game overall!

petey123567 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:39am

lovely!

AugustSnow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:50am

Great game!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36am

Nice entry. Looks very good. Nice moody audio. I wish there was more variety to the combat. Otherwise, I really enjoyed this one. Great work!

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:57am

A very nice atmospheric game, very immersive. The sound and the visuals really help to get us into these caves !
I wish the character was a little more detailed, since it is present in the screen all the time (maybe some texturing would help ?). Also the level design could be improve, to balance challenge and progression. Great job anyway !

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Interesting visuals, cool ambiance, good mood.

May 6, 2014 @ 2:06am

This is really cool! It reminds me alot of our game Ice Hop, which is also a third person platformer with crystals. Seems we were on the same page. ;)

May 15, 2014 @ 8:31am

Ohh, this is neat. Love the rolling and shooting :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]