Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burrow Down

by danbo - Jam Entry

Go deeper for gains in BURROW DOWN!

WASD to move, L-Click to fire, R-click (Hold) to charge mana quickly

I was curious about adaptive difficulty systems, so I thought I'd try something that's a weeee bit like Border Down. The notion is that you go down deeper to get more XP, but expose yourself to greater challenges. There was to be multiple endings depending on how deep you are when you finish the game, but I didn't have the time.

Also, the maps were supposed to be different depending on your difficulty level, but... common theme emerging here

Tips for success :
* Hold right click to charge mana! Once again, I have failed at telling players things.
* The blades deflect fireballs. Extremely useful, overpowered.
* They are not cacodemons, their canonical name is "CHOMPY2"
* Try playing while violently nodding to simulate the screenshake I didn't have the time to implement

Uses music from ko0x "bitpop worlds" under creative commons license. If you like it, go buy : http://ko0x.bandcamp.com/

Uses stuff from OGA :
http://opengameart.org/content/dungeon-tileset
http://opengameart.org/content/creepy-thing

Everything else is me.

Developed in LOVE 0.9.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#5Fun(Jam)4.37
#32Overall(Jam)4.00
#86Audio(Jam)3.80
#192Mood(Jam)3.47
#203Humor(Jam)3.03
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#340Theme(Jam)3.22
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08am

Very nice work! My pacifist run didn't go so hot :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Wow! This is a ton of fun to play! I was using a trackpad so it wasn't ideal but it was still really cool to delve down into the pits of the dungeon. I wasn't brave enough to always choose harder but the powers were really creative (especially that rebounding sword spin thing!).

Awesome game, would love to see more of it :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

The game was enjoyable and had a good difficulty to it. It feels over all good, however audio is a bit annoying sometimes. - Flurkin

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Pretty fun, but the fact that the window kept losing focus is suuuper irritating. That one little thing would really help.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Awesome game! Impressed by how much you were able to get done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

I got this error on Love for Ubuntu 12.04: http://i.imgur.com/VooUFcX.png

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

This was fun, nice job!

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Great game. Reminded me a bit of what Diablo would be like on the NES.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04am

That was fun to play ! I really liked the beam thing that you shoot, it's so op haha The only thing that bothered me is that the first kind of shot you gotta press the mouse repeatedly, it hurts my hand.. But overall it was really great! ( And you've done many kinds of enemies, nice job )

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

This is absolutely fantastic. Definitely the most entertaining game I've played this LD so far.

The different spells and the recharge mechanic work so well and the bullet hell-ish feel is so much fun.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

This is an incredible entry! Great all around and a lot of fun! Fantastic job!

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11am

What a fantastic game. The music was great, the sounds were good, the art style worked well, the graphics brought back fond memories of bullet-hell shooters on the SNES, and the mechanics did, too.

While I like that the game lets you choose whether to play the harder level next or an easier one, I absolutely love that the game then taunts you when you die. Sure, you don't get a gameover, but the game is basically calling you out saying that you couldn't handle how hard it was. Some things are worse than death indeed. Also, it serves the dual purpose of making me not want to die (since I want to keep my dignity) but I don't have to go through the tedious process of playing content I already did just to try and see the ending (something all too annoying about some Ludum Dare entries). I ended up playing through it multiple times just to see all the levels anyway.

I'm not sure if I just wasn't paying attention or what, but it wasn't until my second playthrough that I realized you could hold down right click to charge up. I'm not sure if there's a way to make that more obvious? Also, the sword spell goes through walls, which was basically the only way I made it through certain parts of the harder levels, so maybe that's intentional.

The level design was also really good. Some of the levels were somewhat non-linear, or allowed you to attack enemies that you won't encounter until later on, making them more interesting than just "beat this group, then this group, then kill these guys, then you're done."

Honestly, if this were given more time and polish I could see this turning into a commercially viable game. Throw in a ton more levels, more weapons, more enemies, co-op play, some unlockable stuff, (and maybe a few secret areas) and I would totally pay a few bucks for this on steam or something. Seriously, go get this green-lighted :)

blearn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Your game is awesome. I like the adaptive difficulty system, it was useful for my first play through since I was using a trackpad. I really enjoy the weapons. They are well balanced and are just fun to use. Good job on the enemy types too.

I did have the game crash on me once. In case you want details:
I'm running love on ubuntu 64-bit.
screenshot of error output: http://imgur.com/lwahKaZ

Also to everything Fritzendugan said: Yes.
(Although if you want to go commercial with it you'll have to replace the soundtrack)

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08am

Man, this is really really good. Don't dwell on the things you didn't get in, it's a jam, it's bound2 happen! What you have here is really fun. You mostly said what can be said about it in your comments (ie the mind blade is over powered). I guess I really wanted to go in those doors/up those stairs and they were just walls which kinda made me sad. But you did an excellent job in this. Top marks for most categories

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12am

Oh yeah, I also started following you on twitter because of that end screen

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Really fun! I accidentally clicked middle difficulty after going all the way to the last one on hard D: died hoping it would let me re-choose, and ended up at a victory screen o_o
Started again, hard mode all the way :D

ceosol says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:49am

This is a lot of fun to play. I think you made the right move working on mechanics over animation. There is a lot of content here for a short period of time!

Almost says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I initially misread the tip as "press Z to switch" instead of "2" and so I pushed buttons at random until I figured it out.

It would be nice to show each key input until it has been pressed by the user, instead of for a constant duration.

jujule says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:14pm

I liked the frantic action. I also appreciate the fact that there is a lot of content. The only down point to me is that some of the great pixel graphics contrasts to much with some other placeholder ones (menu background, exits, for example).
Good job!

abayb says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:53pm

That was the best game I've played so far!

hyouko says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:21am

Excellent fun. Maybe some collectable powerups to restore mana would be good? Also, as others have noted, it's super easy to click outside of the small window and accidentally lose focus.

rojo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:54am

This was really fun. Graphics were decent, and I liked the music as well. An animation on the character would have been nice. Also, it would have been good if the level up notes stayed on screen a bit longer.

CrackedP0t says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:45am

That was excellent!

Ditto says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:46am

Wow I like this a lot! The controls are really good, simple and effective, the way you level up feels really cool and the increasing difficulty was really good to! I died at level 5 or something, and starting the game again it said I won.. That is probably a bug but it made me laugh, so .. awesome! ^^

Scam says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Fun to play. Surprisingly hard after a couple of levels. Maybe I have to choose easier difficulty next time...

May 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Fantastic!! The difficulty progress mechanics, the weapons, the enemies, everything is great.
I like how it has RPG elements like XP and upgrades but is implemented in a way that it doesn't feel like (i hate when i have to stop the game to upgrade). I hope one day this become a model/style to future games. I would love to see more of that.

Jeremias says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

The mana recharging is a nice mechanic. If you want to make a post-compo version, I would let the player walk faster and make more enemies instead of less enemies with more health. What do you think? Anyway, fun game!

radmars says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice! Really fun. I wish the messages when you level up were a bit more obvious though, I missed most of them.

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:43pm

It's a very good game! I play it for a long time, the base mechanics are enjoyable, it's a fun game.

Some screenshake (like you said) & feedback sounds are my recommendations. Also using the mouse scroll to change between powers.

May 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Great game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

burgerdare says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I had a really good time with this. The enemy variety is nice, although, I found that as far as spells go, the second spell is the only particularly viable option. It's very easy to deploy it as a shield when most of the bullets are coming from a similar area, then charge up while you're safe and redeploy it when you can.
Even with this exploit, though, I found the game fairly challenging and enjoyable. Really great work!

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:09pm

That was fun :)

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:53pm

The game ended when I was about to turn into a god of destruction... I just needed infinite XP. XD

This was so frigging fun!!! The difficulty system kind of reminded me of AutoRun. In that game, between each stage you also chooses between a easier and a harder path.

Something I really like a lot is that by the end of the game you are at the maximum level. It didn't feel like grinding, even though I could have skipped a few enemies, and I had fun in destroying each one of them.

I can only imagine how great this would be with greater graphics (at least, animated), screen shake and more particles.

taocayo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Great weapons. At first I thought the blade was a bit overpowered then I went to a higher difficulty and realized how wrong I was. This game pulls at the strings of what makes a good game: it's fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]