Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface, Drillsnake

by ioboi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry to Ludum Dare :)

I would describe the game as some sort of snake with mines as a twist.
Your goal is to get as much minerals as possible.

The compo was fun and I'm looking forward to play and rate awesome games :D

If you'd like post your highscore in the comments :)

My personal highscore is 604

Cheers <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#194Theme3.68
#365Innovation3.35
#859Graphics2.68
#884Overall2.85
#928Audio1.90
#1001Humor1.75
#1058Fun2.39
#1094Mood2.29

Comments

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

A very interesting concept with nice graphics! When going right, I had to click a pipe twice to get it to turn. I would've loved to have some time-manipulation tools, such as pausing or speeding up the game.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21am

Thanks :)
The game can be paused with space bar.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

So stressing if you build just a second drill! But it's a nice concept, I think you could improve this into a full fledged game. It reminds me of Mr. Driller. Sort of.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice idea. But not very intuitive controls(change drill direction). Good job! Two drills it's very hard!!!

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Mining and building = fav themese, you have my votes, sir!

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Nice concept! Managing more than one drill is a bit hard though. Changing the drill direction could've been a bit easier.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Nice, another game in Dart. And even without using any library.

Got to 518. Started with 2 drills, but lost one of them..

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Real fun and for a first Ludum Dare it's great work!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Works pretty well, if low on excitement.

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I feel like the drill needs to be a bit faster for this to really be fun. Overall, cool idea for a concept, it was just a little slow game play. (Maybe I didn't use enough drills ;)

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Interesting mechanics but the gameplay could be explored more.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

This reminds me of Motherload :)

rujo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29am

original concept, i like the retro style of the design

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

It's an interesting idea, but as others have said, if you have one drill the game is slow and quite easy, but with more than one it's chaos.

Certainly a good game for a first LD, though! :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Hey congrats on your first LD! That's a nice concept you got here (maybe not 'punchy' enough, but that's something you could work on next time)

With more variety you could have something great here.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:04am

Interesting game. A fine entry for your first LD.

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Interesting mechanic. I don't think it is as fun as it probably could be with further work. I like the idea of being able to guide the drill, but it quickly becomes boring to wait for the 1-second pulse of the drill iteration. I wish I could speed it up a lot. Controlling the turning isn't an issue because I can pause. It might be fun to have the drill slowly speed up as a function of your depth. So as your reward goes up, so increases the risk (and hopefully the fun!)

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice twist on snake mechanics, I enjoyed it.

May 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I couldnt make the stinkin drill move, but cool game over all :) I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

ioboi says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Thank you, I really like your youtube channel and the series :)
You have to click the last drill-segment to make it change the direction.
I'm sorry, I should've written that in the instructions :/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]