Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Terror

by okeyboy99 - Jam Entry

Hey Everyone, first time making a game start to finish. Experimenting with the new Unreal Editor 4, my friend and I spent the majority of the time figuring out how to do things. What we came up with is a simple puzzle game, you try to escape the main cavern.

Controls:

ESC -> Exit
Space -> jump
WASD -> movement
Shift -> run (beware running blows out your torch)
Left Mouse Hold down (2seconds) -> relight torch

<<UPDATED 4/30>>
Added the visual studio 2013 x86 runtime dlls in the zip.

<<Updated 5/2>>
Since a few have no idea what to do... perhaps entering the uniquely colored tunnels in a specific order may lead you elsewhere...

If you receive an msvcr120 error when starting the game, it requires Visual studio 2013 c++ runtimes which can be downloaded here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784



EXE location -> WindowsNoEditor\BeneathTheSurface2\Binaries\Win32

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#522Audio(Jam)2.66
#565Humor(Jam)2.08
#599Theme(Jam)2.64
#647Graphics(Jam)2.57
#673Innovation(Jam)2.28
#674Fun(Jam)2.26
#683Overall(Jam)2.53

Comments

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I could not start the game, because of MSVCR120.dll is missing, maybe you should place it beside the .exe file, so other can play your game :/

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

MSVCR120.dll is missing error. Will add this to my list to come back to. Hope you fix it :))

okeyboy99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28pm

would you guys mind trying VS2012 c++ runtime download. These are normally bundled with games during their install process.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

okeyboy99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Oops sorry i meant VS2013 Runtime, I'm reuploading with the missing DLLS in hopes that people don't actually have to install the runtime separately, but here is the link none the less

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52am

I installed vcredist earlier for some other game, so it didn't complain about MSVCR120 but it still failed to start.

"The application failed to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application"

okeyboy99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03am

Hi Almost, so apparently including the dll's causes the error you see, if you remove the .dlls in the exe path you should be able to start (hopefully). I've re uploaded my build without including any extra dlls.

shasharala says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I really liked the noise the glowing eyes made. It was both frightening and amusing. Besides that, I was unsure what I was to be doing, besides vainly avoiding the eyes, navigating around in the dark for a while, and occasionally finding odd colored lights that would quickly turn red. For a short while I was afraid I was in a jump-scare game, but quickly dismissed that as play progressed. Regardless, it did have good mood.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05am

Lol, those eyes! nice creepy sound though.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31am

It took me a while to figure out what was going on. The first time I was being attacked I didn't know how or why, in my wild flailing of the mouse I never saw the eyes. The graphics were outstanding, good music and an appropriately creepy sound effect let me know I was being killed by something.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:32am

I kept on getting teleported back to the start, I think?

trueyomic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:36am

Holy crap! Very creepy! Never found out where to go in the end, but the red eyed monster you made was terrifying. The progressively louder noise at it approached so slowly... Great job!

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34am

Actually pretty terrifying, but possibly only because I have no backbone. Very good job setting a mood. Overall I didn't know what to do or where to go so I just died repeatedly. Even in a game about exploring the dark it is good to have some agency over the situation. I felt powerless in a way that I am not sure was your intent since the game felt more like a moody escape game.

Good start, keep going.

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Awesome graphics!

blahoink says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:01am

nice game, and a really cool way of creating a creepy feeling to your world.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:32pm

The game is creepy and the darkness adds to the mood, the problem with the game was that I had no idea what to do in the game. I kept going up the stairs but it brings me back up. Am i doing something wrong? or is it meant to be that way?:D

OrionCanning says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

I made a video of this game here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqOlVTo24CI&feature=share&list=PLTOPTuq84czneH0X6vl9epjE2pLiaXY6T&index=2 It definitely creeped me out, I had fun playing it.

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:28pm

omg, creepy

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]