Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUBTWEET: The Card Game

by chrisamaphone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

THIS IS NOT A DIGITAL GAME. This game will require you having physical resources (index cards) and at least 2 other willing players. I hope you'll give it a try despite this overhead!

SUBTWEET is a social card game based on the notion of "subtweeting someone" on Twitter. It's about secrecy in plain sight: you want your intended recipient to know your tweet is about them, while fooling as many other people as possible into doubting your intent, perhaps even believing themselves to the be recipient.

Mechanically, the game involves each player having hands of cards, and taking a rotation of turns in which they play a card, potentially causing players (including themselves) to gain cards. The objective is to empty your hand.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1989Coolness22%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

did not expect this. good job, gonna show it to more of my friends

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

i think its supposed to be a computer game =D.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Funny

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47pm

haven't played it, but it's an interesting mechanic, and a cool take on the theme

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Ok so a lot of thought has gone into this game.
Fun that it's a non-digital game (don't know if it has to be digital).

But I really don't have the possibility to play it :(

Rate it high on Innovation though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Nice concept, I like the physical aspect. I would like to give it a try with friends, the gameplay seem very interesting :)

Tuism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Ok damn I haven't played it yet, but I will :D It sounds like a Dixit on twitter, which is pretty damn awesome :D Love it! :D

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Interesting that you chose not to make a digital game, nice and unorthodox.

gnerkus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:11am

I was unable to play it (seeing as it is not a digital game) so I didn't rate it.

stvr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:11am

I always love to see analog games in LD. Great idea, and well thought out!

May 14, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I cant download the PDF :c looks fun tho, interesting concept.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]