Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Cannon

by Lukbebalduke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my game. I worked hard to make this game, so... I hope u enjoy it.
You can play in: Portuguese or English.

---------------------------CONTROLS---------------------------

Click the left mouse button to shoot.
Press SPACE with 3 marks to drop a NUKE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#72Graphics4.19
#181Fun3.53
#258Overall3.50
#440Innovation3.23
#465Audio2.90
#665Mood2.88
#719Humor2.21
#1031Theme2.53

Comments

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Looks great and had some fun with it.
Unfortunately it crashes if you click too fast. :(

Torri Y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really awesome game! I'd love to see where this goes in the future!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Game looks very professional, controls are a bit hard but once you practice a bit you can be more efficient.
Levels are a bit short, therefore very hard.

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Cool game. Would be a good port to phone devices. Not sure how it fits into the theme though :\

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

This is a pretty fun game! I like the feel of it a lot and blowing up huge clusters of gems is very satisfying.

The collision detection of the 1200 point gems was a little weird; I found myself a couple times having hit it dead on to no effect, but then was able to catch it at the edge of an explosion.

I'm also curious as to the effect of the radiation symbol at the top.

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

A very cool and good game - but really difficult :-( ;-)

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

My try crashed also. Fun game, great execution. The others are right, this would be nice as a mobile app.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Certainly the prettiest game I've played so far, could've used some more audio though for a more complete package.

While I liked the idea the game was super hard (in an annoying way) because of the inverted mouse control. Even after getting to level 8 or so after lots and lots of trying I still couldn't aim reliably. The game being windowed made it a lot worse, because I accidentally clicked on my desktop or other open windows.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

@etherframegames

The Nuclear symbol is a special power you can use, whenever you explode more than 7 gems with a cannon ball you recive 1 mark, with 3 marks you can drop a nuclear bomb.

@Moosefly

Oh thanks ! I think you are right , the controls are "hard" to use , maybe on mobile it should be easier. Oh, yeah, I have a lot of problems with audio, I think I ll put a background music.

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39am

Such a nice game! It lacks sound, but all the rest is just fine! Funny and matches perfectly with the theme!

Also... the graphics are pretty good!

valid4life says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19am

That art looks amazing!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really nice graphics!

berareu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Aiming is very hard but I think that was intended! When you get the hang of it, it's satisfying! Nice art too, great work!

vitor.navarro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I didn't like mouse controls a bit too hard maybe a tweak there solves it?
Seems a good idea to transform into a mobile game. Good job!

yokcos700 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Damn, that last level is intense! Very fun; even when I lose, I feel that I can do better (then proceed to do better), and there's some great variety in the crystals, so it doesn't become stale. My only complaint is that the use of the theme is poor, but it's hardly a complaint worth making. Also, I'm impressed to see a game in multiple languages in Ludum Dare; it's something that perhaps needs to be more common.

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Quite nice game, but cursor very irritated me -,- I think crosshair/character should follow mouse position, but it's on the opposite side (mistake in formula?) ;) Anyway, quite good job!

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:34am

Really nice graphics and cannon sound effects. The controls were a bit difficult, but overall, a fun game.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Really nice game, cool sound effects! :)

oxysoft says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:23am

Awesome graphics; It gets hard very quickly though

ruerob says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Your game was really fun to play, for me and the graphics are nice. The only two things that didn't work well for me were the menubuttons in the playfield and that it wasn't fullscreen, so I accidently opened firefox while playing. But except that this was a really good entry. Thank you.

May 21, 2014 @ 4:12pm

You are featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XHVUTcGVqg

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]