Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill Bill

by mactinite - Jam Entry

New! - Added a bestiary to help you best your foes!


Synopsis:

Drill Bill is a top down shooter in which you play as 85% Drill, 15% man Drill Bill. Drill Bill is everybody's favorite cyborg movie star and this is his latest escapade.

Take control of Drill Bill as he rids the mines of the now sentient mining bio-engineered mechanical organisms in 4 action-packed arenas with unlimited waves of enemies!

Technical info:
Play the game with your mouse and keyboard, or plug in an Xbox controller(not guaranteed to work with Mac or Linux)

Controls:

Movement ---- WASD/Left Analog
Fire ---- Left Mouse/ Right Trigger
Drill ---- Space/Shift/Left Triggers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#382Humor(Jam)2.53
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#475Audio(Jam)2.81
#482Overall(Jam)3.03
#494Innovation(Jam)2.72
#543Graphics(Jam)2.92
#553Theme(Jam)2.75
#606Mood(Jam)2.61

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

I wasn't very good at the game, but i did play through each level. Obvious some glitches and flaws aside, it was fun and I liked how you added some strategy to it with the enemies, though I never did manage to figure out how to kill the enemies that shoot you with pig-like snouts. Still, impressed you managed all that in two days.

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Thanks for playing, the ones that shoot at you are the turtles, and they have a soft underbelly. I don't want to give it away but if you think about how you flip turtles in Super Mario that's where I got the inspiration. ;) When you say obvious bugs and glitches what exactly do you mean? ;)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

Made it past a few waves in the first stage and tried the others. And controller support (yay)! Very nice thing you made there!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

Very nice overall. Some good strategy involved in dealing with the creatures. Needs a controls reference.

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:08am

@Lacaranian thanks for playing glad you liked it!

@JavadocMD Thanks! There is a controls reference in the settings on the main menu. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Is it any chance to win in this game?

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50pm

@Cat Technically, no. The goal is to survive as many waves as you can, like a horde mode of sorts.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Cool idea. I really like the graphical style and the mechanic for killing the Tawl was fun. You could consider showing the bestiary at the start of the game as I didn't look at it at first.
It was maybe a little hard, particularly when more than one enemy got together. I never got past wave 2 on any of the environments.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Too hard

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Impressive work, but how do I kill these turles?
Oh and no picking up the meat?

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Well implemented, love that drill mechanic! :D Man do those things explode. . . isn't there more gib than monster? :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I didn't manage to kill any enemies at all, not sure what i was doing wrong. The music is very catchy... da, da daaaa...da, da daaa...

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I liked the concpet, but all the bloody flesh explosion stuff realy put me off. But besides that, good game.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Great job, I always enjoy a challenging game. Took me a few minutes to figure out how to kill the Tawl. Solid entry :)

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

It looks pretty good for a two day project. Despite what AestheticGamer said, I didn't see any obvious glitches. (Except maybe the laser bolts not following through their trajectory. A little hard, but I was playing this on a trackpad. The art was pretty good too.

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I almost gave up on the turtles but then I found the hint in the bestiary. It's really fun to play once you know how :)

atterday says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very well made top down survival game. Even the menu system is thought out and well designed. Good job

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Fun and addictive game, very frustrating (good thing), cool music.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15am

I thought this was a fun game. I think the controls for drilling down need work, but it's 72 hours. I hope you expand it further, I think this could be fun with more polish. Impressed by the number of modes and controller support option. :)

Thanks for sharing it! :D

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:45am

You lasted 1 waves. This game is hard :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]