Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Sea I Find

by Philo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about getting to know someone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Mood3.50
#227Theme3.64
#289Overall3.46
#393Graphics3.41
#618Fun2.95
#771Innovation2.77
#773Audio2.32
#953Humor1.86
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

nagual says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21am

really nice. very beautiful and subtle.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40am

I find myself unable to figure out what I'm supposed to do. I got to the white screen and mashed my keyboard for a few minutes. Nothing happened.

4KbShort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40am

Easy to pick up and learn. There appears to be a story. Gotta use mad skills to unlock all those secrets. Great use of visuals and simple sounds make it peaceful.

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:55am

Simple and fun! Very nice!
Just a question.. the blank screen is the end of the game ?

meishijie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice game.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Very nice graphics

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Good Job

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

ohh, atmospheric

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

Simple and attractive. I felt that the difficulty was well tuned.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

Liked the difficulty curve, and the overall look

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Cool title (which I say because there's so much blue! :D )

CogComp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

Very nice and easy to understand what one should do. Good work!

dan.marchand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

Simple and fun. The minimalist graphics work really well too

lorancou says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

The gameplay isn't particularly inventive but it's solid, and the game is pretty, congratz!

Claude-Henry says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

very interesting, nicely polished, good job!

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Very nice. Thanks!

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

I found this really quite enjoyable! very nice graphics

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

A good solid game. Love the particles! I just wish the gameplay isn't that simple and it gets boring after a few seconds. Maybe add a some sort of a explosion that will destroy the spikes? Or maybe that won't really fit to the current of mood. But maybe add anything that the player can do besides up,down,left and right would do.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Quite good the sound fx are funny

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Like it, didn't get to far so don't know the ending (if there is one) but I kinda wanted to find the source of between-waves texts :)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very nice little game. I really liked the narrative aspect and the visuals where beautiful. Kind of simple game-play but changing up the patterns of things to collect and things that hurt you kept it interesting.

Great work!

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very atmospheric. Nice graphics, tricky gameplay. Good stuff.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

little slow... but i like it! nice mood

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Well done, I enjoyed this.

ceosol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Other than the white screen at the end, I enjoyed this :)

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really enjoyed this, interesting quirky style, and some very nice enemy formations and progression.

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Fun and challenging!

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

That was a great experience, thank you :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Beautiful imagery and well written, but I couldn't make it to the end, too hard for me :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cool orbs but it needs instructions maybe?

davidc. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

interesting idea, could of used a bit more interesting mechanics. well done

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Very nice, very relaxing

May 1, 2014 @ 11:07am

So relaxing!! Ant it's really well balanced, I had a nice time playing your game, great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]