Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Amongst the Sand & Spice

by ghostmaple - Jam Entry

You are a hungry sandworm beneath the sands of a desert planet. Use your sensitive seismic location abilities to track down delicious Fremen foolish enough to walk through your desert. Local flora such as cacti post no threat to your immensity, but watch out for rock formations that extend deep below the sands.

Controls: Left/Right keys or swipe left/right to turn. Pay attention to the map's pings to get a general idea of targets. Use the top screen to zero in. (In this version, you'll automatically eat guys when you are underneath them.) Think of it as light cycles + snake + submarine tracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#276Innovation(Jam)3.23
#482Theme(Jam)2.94
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#579Fun(Jam)2.58
#591Overall(Jam)2.81
#664Audio(Jam)1.53
#687Graphics(Jam)2.37
#704Mood(Jam)2.18

Comments

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

This a pretty cool game. I like the double views (top down and perspective). I found myself switching between them to locate prey and figure out which way was left and right. Good job.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

can you build this without the installer?

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19am

Apologies spocker, it defaulted to the awful installer on that last build. Give it a try now. It should be a regular executable.

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35am

No Installer , We Prefer ...

Fritzendugan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

I couldn't hear any sound if there was any. Some sounds and music would've been a nice edition.

Cool mechanics. Felt kinda like snake with a twist. The dual-view was cool. I kind of wish the top part were larger and easier to see. Overall, fun game. I have a feeling I'm gonna find myself playing this on my phone.

SoumyaXeored says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

nice game!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Wow, this game is very addictive. I had a lot of fun playing it, reminded me of snake. I like the fact that I didn't have to install anything to play so good job switching to executable :D.

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Neat mechanic once you get used to it... it's a little hard to focus on both screens though. Pretty cool overall.

Also.. no audio?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Yay for android release :D

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

Really innovative. Fun to play too!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Nice game! :D The top screen is kinda hard to use and it was a bit difficult for me to get what was going on at the beginning, but after I figured it out, it was a lot of fun! And controlling which way is left and right on the map adds an extra level of difficulty >:]

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52am

Sorry, I tried to play this on linux via wine :( Didn't work well.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice game. I like the two views.

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:24am

walk without rhythm, and we won't attract the worm...

NOMNOMNOM

SecularBaron says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26am

Cool game, very innovative.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Pretty cool the gameplay idea!

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:52pm

The double view is a really interesting idea - the upper being more useful to hunt down, the lower more useful to locate and evade. Good job!

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:08am

I like the concept, though I found the top view more disorienting than useful, but it was a neat idea to include them both. Could use more variety to the gameplay though, it didn't hold my interest for more than a couple minutes.

Marjie62 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Wow, quite fun and original. It took me a minute to understand that the people stayed where they were even after you could no longer sense them. I felt like the quantity of meaningless and identical shrubbery was more confusing than helpful. I wish that you could see people on the lower map when you are really close to them or something. Although I haven't mastered using the upper view yet, so maybe that is why I feel this way. Very challenging, and lots of replayability!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]