Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underbelly

by Sink - Jam Entry

Choose to be hostile or sneaky in this instant-classic, frogtastic adventure. Advance through two drastically different quests to try to get to the ocean and find your mother.

Made for Ludum Dare 29. Theme: Beneath the Surface.

Programming by @SinksAdventure

Art by @Carpetbones

Music by @scrittah

Controls:

Z - Jump

X - Waveblast (If you're the red frog)

Arrow keys - Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Audio(Jam)4.25
#41Fun(Jam)3.82
#42Overall(Jam)3.89
#93Theme(Jam)3.75
#102Graphics(Jam)4.17
#114Mood(Jam)3.70
#145Humor(Jam)3.22
#295Innovation(Jam)3.18
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

A very fun game, although quite challenging. I really liked the art style, it reminds me of cave story. It's definitely something I would try as a full game.

HernanZh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Cool, I liked this! It was harder than it looked.

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I like the aesthetic and the music, got some nice Cave Story vibes from this. Quite tricky, dealing with bats is a nightmare.

Zednaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Really fun game! Challenging, but always felt fair in its difficulty. The graphics are great, and the mushrooms are funky.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Very nice! Art and music are wonderful, and I'm impressed by the two different quests.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

This game is really fun! Good audio and graphics, and the difficulté is perfect!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10am

I'm a sucker for pixelly platformers, although I found this one really frustrating in parts! It's hard!

aspexParsec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

I thought it was very well done, the slippery flogs and the bumping music completed this little underground masterpiece.
I would say it's as hard as people are making it, but the difficulty is balanced enough.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Pretty hard to get through some of the levels, music and art were charming though. Overall not bad.

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very nice and clean, well done

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Interesting game :D Love it!

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

FROGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Really challenging! Great.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Pretty nice, felt very Cave Story-esque.

I think that the movement was a tad too sensitive, though. I'd find myself trying to sort of shimmy towards the edge of a platform and I would just end up jettisoning myself off the edge.

Otherwise, Nice!

Also, when you get to the end of the red frog one, I jumped up the really tall room, and jumped off the right side of the screen and fell down into oblivion...

rubna says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

wow, very impressive amount of content! really nice art + musak. My only comment would be: aircontrol plz :ccc But maybe I just suck xD Great job guys!

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46am

I also fell off the edge of the world at that last red frog screen, it seemed like the obvious thing to do, as it was how you progressed every room up to that one...

I found the combat as the red frog a little frustrating, as a monster would hit me, then sit inside my hit box constantly hitting me, while my own attack only seemed to hit things outside of this range. I think if monsters had attacked you when next to you, rather than 'inside' you, so you could retaliate, that would have helped a lot.

Enjoyed the music and the art. The idea of starting as an egg and the path you choose determining your play style was really cool.

May 2, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Cool game. The characters are charismatic and the music is great.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice entry! I spent ages getting to that bandage lol. I did find a bug though, after going up the lower gravity part I went to the right off screen, fell down, and ended up stuck there off screen :/

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:20am

The green frog portion of the game got quite difficult at the end. One thing I would change that would make it heaps less frustrating is making the first single block platform of the horizontal section (with the big black monster trying to catch you) two blocks instead of one. I feel like the final room of the area still has enough difficulty that this wouldn't make things too easy, but having both of those sections made things obnoxious enough that I almost never finished the game. Regardless, still a great game. I loved it, particularly the audio!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]