Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Harvest Doom

by Venturelli - Jam Entry

A Plants vs Zombies-style "underground defense" game about growing Golden Lettuces and fighting shovel-wielding kobolds with spiked tomatos. Yeah.

We had to abandon the original idea mid-jam, so the game is a lacking a bit of content, but it's still kinda interesting.

Instructions in-game.

Developed by:
Mark Venturelli - code
Lucas Thiers - art
Thiago Adamo - sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#34Theme(Jam)3.93
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#120Overall(Jam)3.63
#128Graphics(Jam)4.07
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#322Audio(Jam)3.17
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#364Mood(Jam)3.07

Comments

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Awesome! Congratz =]

Fico foda bagarai! Parabéns! =]

stigmawall says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice entry, love how you maded the characters don't having orthogonal animations.

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

I laught everytime with the golden lettuce. This is epic for a jam: has humor, nice sounds, good animation and the controls are clean and neat. Very well done!

frickajr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Awesome!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Great game! Had a lot of fun.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Ahahaha, this game has a great sense of humour! Dig the isometric styling, damn fun over all, great stuff!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Fiquei bem confuso no começo mas consegui desconfundir depois xD

zanenga says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

Great game! Love the art style.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Great game, congratulations for the gameplay, maybe lacks a bit in graphics, but the overall is fantastic.

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I like the graphics ! but I didn't had any monster spawning...

Tipyx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Awesome ! There is a great idea behind this ! Maybe there is something to push :)

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I was able to just hold the watering can down on the lettuce to grow it rapidly. Of course I felt obligated to exploit this cheese tactic and won after 2 waves...

vexille says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Really awesome! Great twist on the tower defense formula. Only thing I found strange was that the range for each plant only works for when you click it, otherwise they just shoot directly downwards.

Parabens galera!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is really cute! I'm always a sucker for growing-stuff themed games. It's slick, the interface is easy to use, and I really like the art. Only a couple of criticisms, though:

1. I think the timing may be a little bit off. The early waves seem to take a bit too much time spent sitting around and doing nothing; I also won my first game planting plants on grassy patches only (i.e. I had 3 tomatoes and 1 corn plant, since I thought you could only plant on grass).

2. You kind of undercut your initial absurd humor by going "aw, whatever" at the end of the story! You made a strong choice, and you'll have better results by sticking to it.

Thanks for the game! I enjoyed playing to the end, and look forward to seeing your polished final product.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice game with interesting gameplay

Nkracer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Fun game, Liked it a lot!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I wish I could play more of this game, but it starts to run slowly after a while (I've found this always seems to happen with HTML5 games made on GMS :c).
The graphics are really nice though and the gameplay would be fun too if it weren't for the lag problem.

Slader16 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00am

Really fun, just wish it wasn't so... corny! (I just had to say it :P)

SK16Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very neat game :) cool to see others using Game Maker too ;D

SonnyBone says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:30am

Anything Harvest Moon related is cool in my book. Played like total crap in anything other than Chrome. I've been having so many browser game issues. Unity not running in Chrome. HTML5 not working anywhere but Chrome. Your game was slow and silent, then I loaded it up in Chrome and it was so crisp and lively! I hope others don't run into that issue and skip playing your entry because it's really well made. Great art, great music/sfx, a unique take on the theme, and a nice change of scenery from the usual defense game.

Cons - Not very challening - enemy waves take a while to spawn

Overall a very excellent entry. Congrats!

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:32am

Very nice idea, I`m not a big fan of this kind of game but enjoied playing it. Just one tip, is that next time you give a little more attention to the perspective, because it took me a while to perceive that the monsters were beneath me.

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Love the graphics, and the music. Very impressive for 72 hours

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool idea, well done.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Perfect!

Adrian says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:42pm

It can't be played anymore it seems, I get a Server not found error when trying to play. Please fix it? :)

gre says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Server is down I'm afraid

TheSheep says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:05pm

The provided address is down.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]