Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Patient 283

by Beavl - Jam Entry

What lies beneath the mind of a serial killer?

--

In a not so distant future, memories retrieved by nanobots may be used in federal courts.

Patient 283 is an impossible runner through the mind of a serial killer.

--

CREDITS
Beavl + Ruppel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Audio(Jam)3.86
#133Overall(Jam)3.59
#178Mood(Jam)3.50
#182Graphics(Jam)3.86
#278Humor(Jam)2.80
#289Theme(Jam)3.32
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

I like the music and the colorful graphics. I wish it was a little easier on the eyes - I get that you're going for edgy serial killer, but the strobe effects in the beginning and the fast gameplay are tough at the end of LD! Maybe it'll be easier to play tomorrow :)

Great work!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Thats a new level of hard
I almost punched my computer trying to pass through "Her neck breaks easily" tip. I don't think its humanly possible haha
anyway, awesome game!
I like the touch the walls mechanics

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Damn good music with sweet ass visuals. The strobe effects hurt my eyes but it's early in the morning here tho. :D The wall hitting mechanic was a nice touch.

Should I be worried that I like beef jerky too? :)

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Yeah..Love this Ghetto Stylee, Awesome sountrack..

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

This would be a great mobile game. Quick, kind of like Flappy Bird and Super Hexagon. (do it)

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Simple but very polished and addictive! The narrative in the form of the unlocks keeps you going as well. Haven't got to 450nm yet, but still trying. My eyes are bleeding though...

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Awesome visuals, almost impossible difficulty. I like it.

zeal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Visually very interesting piece. Really cool.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

Amazing graphics and presentation on show here. Perhaps the gameplay is a bit too hard? Some neat ideas with the side walls opening up. I also thought it was neat that your webpage fits in with the style of the game. I dunno, just a neat touch.

fserb says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

Oh my god the flashes! :) But nice idea!

mechabit says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Nice graphics

dusho says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58pm

nice effects, really fast
staying at same place got me actually furthest

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Really good! I was able to get to the 8th tip, but no to the last one.
Man, this is hard! Sounds and graphics were also great! =D

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:47pm

The graphics are stylish, but definitely need to come with an epilepsy warning.

May 4, 2014 @ 8:10am

Ohh, flashy :)

radmars says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Love the vibe but it's just so fast... starting slow & gradually accelerating might make this a lot more fun.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:45am

Strobe warning, please ._.

This is polished and well-put together, but something about it really turned me off. It was a bit too fast, a bit too bright, a bit too unclear about what was being asked of me or why I would want to do it. Serial killers are fascinating, sure, but that means that the genre is fairly glutted. I didn't really feel like I'd "gained access to a deranged mind" or whatnot. It's an infinite runner with a couple of tweaks, right? Focusing on that core gameplay might make a bit more sense, since the narrative is actively coloring the gameplay in ways that it probably shouldn't.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:33am

Great visuals and interesting concept. The gameplay is good but it moves quite fast so it's hard to stay alive!

vilya says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:27pm

This is awesome, I love it!

There are a few issues: I thought the controls were a bit twitchy, that everything was moving just slightly too fast and that it was sometimes hard to see the foreground sprites against the supercolorful background. But none of that was enough to stop me wanting one more go. And another. And another...

Brilliant!

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Ahah crazy visuals! A bit too hard but it's nice anyway.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]