Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Behind The Surface

by td1801 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a diver and have to collect 10 lost antic amphora to complete your mission. You'll have to deal with your oxygen level by picking up some bubbles or going back to the surface to breathe.

Control :
wasd : Move
Left Shift : Go down
Space : Go up
Mouse : look around

I made this game with Craftstudio, and used photoshop for some images. This is the first Ludum Dare I do alone, and one of the first game I did! I hope you'll like it, but anyway, thank you for playing it :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#174Theme3.72
#431Mood3.13
#579Graphics3.14
#830Overall2.90
#845Fun2.69
#887Innovation2.62

Comments

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49am

Wow, this is a very similar concept to my game. :) I couldn't find all the amphora - good fun though. I would recommend adding some particles or other effects to make it seem more like you are underwater. Great entry - well done.

Van Merwan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Well done Thomas. Simple and effective.
The textures are well done, the whole is coherent and can be easily contemplated. I think the hidden object gameplay is a nice choice.

You should have disabled the space button up to a z limit. The fact you can fly makes the game too easy and breaks the mood.

The jellyfishes add to the mood but you could have done better in this criteria, with other small but quick details.

(I say a lot about the mood because the majority of submissions here doesn't even try to have an atmosphere. :/)

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

A neat idea. Love a good treasure hunt! There were technical issues that just brought me out of the game. Being able to fly was a bit weird, and (I think) unintended. The underwater library was a neat touch, but I was still losing air in there. I'd love to hear a bit of sound too. Overall, neat concept!

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Cool hunting game.

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:41am

Simple and effective concept, but maybe a little bit too simple.
The lack of sound and music and particles decrease drastically the immersion.
You also should have added bounds to your map and disable the ability to fly.
Ayway good job for your first LD alone !

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Thanks you all ! I wanted to add some sounds but.. My computer had somme issues with sound ^^
I take note of your advices :)

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I get a crash on start. Maybe lacking a dependency? I'll try it on my home comp and see if it runs there.

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Do you have the XNA redistributable ?
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
I forgot to put that link.

dook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very neat little exploration game :) I enjoyed the little secret like areas.

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I love a lot about this entry. It would have done wonders with some sound, even auto generated, however. The flying over the surface of the water was the first thing I tried and I thought it was hilarious :P

Getting the statues felt tedious though because of how slow you moved forward, especially compared to how quickly you went up and down. I would much prefer a faster moving guy with a larger area to explore rather than a slow guy that makes me feel like I'm barely moving.

I did collect all 10 of them and I think the under-ground temple-y area was really cool and could have been utilized a bit more! It felt like I was in there and then game over. There were lots of juicy hiding spots that I saw as I was exploring down there looking for the final three.

I really like this entry, if you keep working on it and add levels and polish I think it would be a pretty reasonable 3D hidden object game, of which I don't think too many exist? I dunno, but I like it, good job!

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Couldn't run on OSX

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Your game was the first which I played until the end! Really a awesome game in just 48 hours. The only thing is, that you are able to "outglitch" a little bit, but this doesn't disturb the mood. :)

Shivur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Simple and funny.

td1801 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Thank you so much. It's so nice !
And thank you for your remarks about my game, maybe I'll do a better post compo version :p

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Congrats, nice debut!

gwa says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:57am

Nice Game but I didnt find all the amphore :(

BuddaKaeks says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:28am

Actually, it's a good game, but there are three things which I want to mention:
First of all, I didn't have any problem with my oxygen, maybe you could reduce the maximum amount of oxygen.
The scond thing: In that cave, why there are three bottles at once?
And last but not least, you can leave the world border and that looks really ... crappy.

But it's still a pretty good game

cgplover says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:15pm

I really liked the underwater theme, but a glitch where I could go outside the map disturbed the immersion. However, It's still a very good game.

petrocket says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Also couldn't run on OSX, app never launches or crashes on launch :(

Mekuri says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:00am

Decent graphics. Being a minecraft fan I kinda liked it :P - The fact that you could fly ruined it quite a bit for me. The visuals were very nice, and the "treasure hunt" idea was nice. Sounds and maybe some underwater particle effect would have been nice- For a first solo game though, you did a good job :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]