Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

punk n roll

by grozamorei - Jam Entry

Fair warning: game not finished.

snake: rattle'n'roll is an old school isometric platformer\snake game for NES. If you never heard of it, check out this article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snake_Rattle_'n'_Roll

Controls: arrows to move, z to jump, x to fire tounge.

We have a thought to make snake rattle'n'roll first level remake\tribute, but with substitute setting. Too bad, we had very little time to implement all we wanted, so for now only small part of initial plans are made. however, you can move, jump, observe the level and fx and eat some disco balls.

Another fair warning: this demo made with unity pro trial, and post effects, pro-only shaders and particle systems used. So if your fps is low, I'm really sorry.

About the theme: we ignored it intentionally. We decided to go with the best we had in mind.

I hope through next couple of weeks we can finish the initial goals. I will publish post-compo version here, too.

I'd like to know how visual style and music feels.

Code along with musical\graphical assets will be on github.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#16Graphics(Jam)4.61
#21Audio(Jam)4.17
#165Mood(Jam)3.55
#305Overall(Jam)3.32
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#355Humor(Jam)2.61
#506Innovation(Jam)2.70
#759Theme(Jam)1.55

Comments

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Graphics and music roxx !
I like to play with my little dafty snake, but didn't understand what to do, after eating my 20th discoball ^^

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Damn, great style!

Omar2002 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Yeah!
Amazing music and graphics!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Disco powa ++

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Great aesthetics, really felt like a cohesive 'world.' Shame you didn't finish it, I really liked the style!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:01am

Oh hey it's Snake Rattle and Roll! Not original but daaaamn the visuals are crazy in this, very very good usage of visual effects and sound too! Wish this would get finished, it's a real trip. It doesn't seem too related to the theme at all but the whole thing has a serious sense of polish to it, great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04am

It was neat to see a modern version of Snake Rattle 'n' Roll, but it was difficult to discern the edges of the stage and there was no real adherence to the theme.

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

Great ambiance ! I like it ! So much Daft Punk :D

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

Really nice graphics here! I rolled around for a while and couldn't find much to do, but it is well put together.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38am

Cool graphics and music! Finish it!

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:38am

Ten Stars!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35am

Those are some neat graphics, and has awesome music to boot. +style :)

dosER_42 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50am

cool game

eastes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

5 Stars for Audio. LOVE the music!

Foofur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:28am

Woo! Daft punk! Pretty please, make a post-compo version!!!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:31am

Really great Graphics and Music. I haven't understood the gameplay. The keyboard setting is also not usable on a german keyboard. This could be a great game once it is finished.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

Wow the music and graphics are fantastic. I love the sound and animation when the snake eats a disco ball. I had a lot of trouble actually catching the disco balls, there were a lot of occasions where I thought I should have caught it with the tongue but it didn't work.

voidstar69 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35am

Excellent disco graphics and music! Hope you finish this game soon, it should be a lot of fun to play.

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:43am

Loved the graphics and audio, great feel! The controls were extremely unwieldy, I couldnt aim and use my tongue at the same time, i'd suggest using the mouse or something like that in future. I'd love to see this one finished, its a great tribute to a great classic.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50am

A representative screenshot would attract more attention, I think ;)

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00am

ActionRemix, thanks for the tip. I added a couple to show off some visuals.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55am

The world has gone too long without a proper snake rattle and roll sequel, make it happen man, off to a great start.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:06am

Nice! You made a Snake, Rattle and Roll game.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:29am

I hope you finish it, because this looks definitely great! I can see a clear Daft Punk inspiration, but you can never go wrong with that.:) Very very nice visuals.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:00am

Looks great. A pretty impressive showcase of unity pro post effects plus a promising start to a game.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:53pm

ohmygosh this is amazing! I love the music and the look of this :D

Level-design on the other hand is a bit tricky, and jump on Z makes it hard on european keyboards

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:02pm

ignore the theme and don't make a finish game, it's a pity for a ludm dare... It's not a creation under constraints...
other than that, it's a really psychedelic game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]