Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Story

by Yword - Jam Entry

Play as the White Exorcist to explore the untold story of ghosts.
Unleash the Sense of Truth to reveal secrets and hidden traps.

Credits:
1. Music "8 Bit Ghost" by Sinclairian
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/414672

2. Font "Storybook"
http://www.dafont.com/storybook.font


Remarks:
- You can customize the input keys in Windows downloadable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#59Overall(Jam)3.79
#65Fun(Jam)3.67
#128Graphics(Jam)4.07
#148Audio(Jam)3.58
#250Mood(Jam)3.33
#279Innovation(Jam)3.22
#340Theme(Jam)3.22
#515Humor(Jam)2.19

Comments

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

You. Motherfucker. The controls are great, the visual effects are fantastic, the level design is great, the enemies are perfectly balanced, the houses (I love the houses) are well done. That's it. You win. You're the best I've played thus far. Unity will want to advertise this LD entry. You get my stamp of aproval.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55pm

This is fantastic! Great art, sound, just wished the controls were more standard (space for jump etc...)

kUANG tOBY says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

It's wonderful! I love it!

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice game mechanic, but quite frustrating sometimes to get killed almost randomly

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice joob ! I love die and retry game !
Graphics are pretty cool

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

Wow. Great game. Awesome graphics, nice controls, complete package. But god damn this was frustrating at times :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24am

really nice game. one of the best so far. really like the mechanic and use of the theme. great job.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Those were some good graphics, music, particles and screenshakes!
Just excluding the fact that I died so many times for things I couldn't see like: that tree that kills you if you don't jump over or the villager that just explodes or the blocks that explode... Yes, I used the Truth vision.
But overall it was really good mates! Good job!

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Really cool and fun game, loved the way you used the theme, good job!

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Realy greate game. Looks prety and have nice mechanic

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Awesome.

Christophe says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice Game!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Smooth controls, awesome graphics and effects mixed with cool music. Nice job!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

May or may not have blue-screened my computer, but otherwise I loved the visuals! :D

Danman9914 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:55am

Great game feel!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:07am

absolutely gorgeous! It plays and feels so COOL!
I feel awesome killing those ghosts! Particles, movement, player reinforcement (and of course music) are top notch!!!

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

gameplay is absolutely spectacular, kudos!

May 1, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Enjoyed the smooth controls and the space bar effect was a nice touch.

AugustSnow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Great game!

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Awesome graphics =o
Couldn't manage the boss, I suck D:

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Wow, this is an incredible game. I would love to see a commercial release, I would buy it.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Excellent game! The boss fight was a bit difficult for me though

demonshanker2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Simply amazing...

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

The shooting and movement in this game feel really good, as does the music and visuals. However, the non-standard controls are pretty difficult to use, and more than that, your charge-up bar for mana is too short for the regions that you're exploring. Given how the game works, it effectively serves as a timer for how long you get to play before you have to stop and sit still for a while--since ideally, the player wants to have it on all the time. But this seems contrary to the well-established tone of the rest of the game, where you're running around using your powers to blast everything. It also makes the last boss frustratingly difficult.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:02am

The game looks pretty cool. A bit tricky, but definitely a good challenge.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:10am

I love the spell effects so much. The graphics are amazing, this game has such a good feel. I was trying to speedrun it but I kept dying because I didn't use my power :c

Secret_Tunnel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really great-looing game! I struggled a little bit with the controls; I think the game might play better with a controller. One thing you could do to make it feel a little better is let the player press the up arrow to jump.

But really great game either way. Wonderful concept.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice visuals and sounds, but very low theme implementation. Too standard, I think...
Not bad, anyway =)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Beautiful game, very cool particle effects! I didn't really like the controls, but the concept was nice, I had fun playing! :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:36am

Fantastic! Very well done, great controls.

matt_j says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Beautiful, cool platforming mechanic!

tomvert says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:58pm

The idea is really nice, but in the end my impression was that there was too much "fake" things and I'd die all the time not knowing why. Otherwise the game looks cool, with nice particle effects.

May 12, 2014 @ 8:31am

Nice one! This feels juicy. Love the music and the gameplay

May 15, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Particles

GFM says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Particles everywhere!!! But I have a single complaint: the boss battle is kinda... The boss being able to spawn over you kinda ruins it for me.

But it's only that. Otherwise, this game is great! It feels and plays awesome!

illugion says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Wow, those lights and particles are great ! I like the mechanic to see the truth, sometimes I got distracted and the game killed me so fast haha nice job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]