Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Lurk Beneath

by ArcturusDeluxe - Jam Entry

You are a ship defending the seas against a nightmarish force from the depths creating evil sea creatures that are attacking unsuspecting vessels.

You must move your ship left and right across the game area and drop depth charges on the creatures below. There are various creatures with different abilities, but the red Grabbers are the ones to look out for, as they will attempt to drag friendly vessels down to the depths. If a Grabber reaches the bottom with one of the ships, you lose the ship permanently. If you lose all friendly ships, or your ship is destroyed, its game over.

Every now and then, a lost city will begin to ascend from the deep. At this point you need to focus your attack on it before it fully surfaces! Don't worry about the grabbers, they will leave the ships alone while the city is rising. Watch out for the super nasty Protector creatures that the city spawns!

An Xbox 360 controller is recommended for this game! Use the left analog stick to move left and right, and A button to fire.

Keyboard-wise you may use A and D, or the cursor keys to move, and right shift to fire. Left mouse button also fires.



A game by Nega Drive for Ludum Dare 29.

Art and Sound by Richard Dunn
Coding by Matthew Jenkins

Created in Unity.
Graphics created using Photoshop and Flash. Sound created in FL Studio, BFXR and Audacity.

The font used is an vectorised version of 'BM Germar' found on dafont.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#189Theme(Jam)3.52
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#277Graphics(Jam)3.62
#293Overall(Jam)3.34
#425Mood(Jam)2.99
#444Humor(Jam)2.39
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68

Comments

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58am

Fun and simple. Nice music. It's weird that the game display area's bigger than 1920x1080 in a browser.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Really? It should be 720p. We're looking into doing an alternate web version with a smaller screen at some point, though.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Really nice with the menu screen, it caught my interest directly! The gameplay was solid too. The audio gave a really nice mood to everything :)

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice artwork, I really like the look of the huge red spider things dragging your ships down. Would have liked a health bar or something for the cities, its not obvious whether you're dealing any damage to them. Weapon upgrades would be great too, the player weapon seems pretty puny! A solid entry!

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Overall nice art and nice music combined with nice gameplay! Those monsters are pretty terrifying!

sprawl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Really nice art and music !

Liked the gameplay, is was addictive, nice job.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23pm

My score was only 8700, but it was addictive

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Now that is a great game! I really enjoy these simple games very well done rather than the ones who try to be fancy and end up feeling unaccomplished. Great job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I liked the fact that the ships resurfaced if you manage to kill the biggies that pull them down :-) - I liked the mechanics, it felt solid. The music was okay, but maybe something a bit more dark or sinister would've added a lot to the mood! - Well done!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Solid and addictive game. The graphics and the music do their job. The fight against the upcoming city was interesting.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Very nice gfx and music. Kept attention long enough to fight the city. Was a bit hard :)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Really nice music.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Well put together game. Lacks some kind of difficulty increase and something to give it a bit more depth. Some nice opportunity in this game to play on the inevitable doom of the player that is not really used.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Great art, especially liked the purple guy with the sideways teeth. Got a little boring after a while. I wanted powerups!

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

well designed game with solid mecanics. The shooting is frustrating though, it's too difficult to aim. One don't loose 'cause the game is becoming too fast (like in good arcade games) but because missiles are inefficient...

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Fun!

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice game. The music is nice, the red monster have a good mechanics. Great work. :-)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:21am

Nice gameplay, simple and fun :D

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

Nice music. I wish the controls were explained in the game rather than the description of your game on this site.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

"How was your trip?" "Oh pretty good we only got pulled under by monsters 3 times"
Fun game, Liked the different monsters.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I like the graphics, very simple and flash-like but especially the monsters had a consistent visual style. The only real complaint I have is that using the Shift key for shooting is slightly annoying, as Windows kept giving me a prompt about toggling on Ease of Access settings every few presses.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I like this. simple arcade style gameplay with nice graphics and nice sound. Good mood too.

sink_t says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43pm

A good game in nearly all respects. The only thing I found lacking were power-ups, which would've added a little variety to the gameplay and perhaps made it possible to survive a little longer. The usage of the shift key is also an issue on Windows.

Wir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Full Humor for ships beeing pulled down and beeing just fine after coming up again :D

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

awesome game!

jujule says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

At first, I thought, well, another polished but generic entry and then the city/boss came and I loved it. I'd like to see more bosses, with different behaviours, and maybe a life bar for the enemies. Game controller was a big plus.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:41am

Very nice and simple. The art is good, and the last part was a surprise! Well done!

ripatti says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:38am

At the first run I quickly lost two ships before understood how to play and got 28700. On the second run I lost only one ship but got less than 10000 because of strange island came from the deep and spawned strong enemies. On the third try I got about 18000 and saved all ships but strange island killed me again. Hmm... looks like this game should be more balanced.

Anyway, great work, I lile graphics, music and simple gameplay. Weel done!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Simple and easy to learn.
Maybe some powers and upgrades make this game better.
I like the tension when undercity is coming out and a lot of monster shows up!

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:30am

Nice! The music was really good for the atmosphere, and I liked that the red monsters clutched the ships and you could then free them. That was innovative. Good job!

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:22pm

The game looks really nice. I found it a little too easy and it got tedious fairly quickly unfortunately. I was basically just doing well enough by holding down the fire button and strafing left and right. Seems like a solid concept, but just needs some changes to make it more exciting and fun. I'd mess with pacing, powerups, speed of the attacks, restriction of playfield width potentially. I guess those are the parameters I'd experiment with to see if it could be made more fun/exciting/challenging. Very well polished at least!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I really like the art style in this. Nice!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Thanks for all the comments and criticisms everyone! We are currently working on a post-jam version with more balanced gameplay, and yes, POWERUPS! Hooray! And some sneaky secret extra stuff. Stay tuned.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Great graphics and super nice game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

terraco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:28am

Different take on a defence game. Well done.

nSun says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:01am

You make a nice "Depths Invaders".
I found the boats to be protected are a little too passive. These ships may play interesting roles or functions to enlarge gameplay. For example: a repair ship, defendera ship (short range), ammunition ship supply (to allow sending a powerful bomb)

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:17am

Score 17700. That was funny. Really awesome music.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:03am

Simple concept, well executed. Maybe you should add some aiming system.

matt_j says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:42pm

For some reason I like the simple explosion effects :D

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Can't play. Unity player crashes when I try to run.

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

10850. For a moment I thought the game was fundamentally broken. I thought I could just defend my last ship from the grabbers but then... The city stared coming out of the ocean and the music started getting more... evil. Dang, that was tense.

TobiasW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:57am

I really like the graphics, and the music and sound effects work well enough (although I would've liked them a bit darker for such a game). I'm not sure if the game played on the right speed for me! If it did, it was a LOT too fast - the red things didn't even take two seconds to appear and completely pull a ship under, and I have to get in position first to protect it and hit two of those puny missles.

angelk says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:13am

Glad to hear some sound since it's usually neglected. Gameplay was good once I realized I could hold the mouse button down to continuously drop mines :) I liked the warning symbol to let you know one of the ships is being taken; it's simple but easy to overlook. I think my favorite part is how the ships slowly right themselves when they reach the top of the water and play a water noise when surfacing.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:34pm

This should be a Samuel L. Jackson movie called "Alien motherf*ckers stole my motherf*cking ship again!" :P It's fun how the ship floats back to the surface and is completely fine too :)

Nice arcade game, it works really well!
I find using a mouse for boolean input (ie. firing in a fixed direction) is a travesty that should no go unpunished though ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]