Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fall From Outer Space

by gene-z - Jam Entry

Step into the shoes of a space invader probe and discover the way to the center of the earth to feed their resources.

A GENE-Z TEAM GAME

Enzo A. Marchiorato
Jhonatan Cordeiro
Jonattan Debur

ARROWS TO MOVE and CONTROL to SHOT PLASMA...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#164Audio(Jam)3.52
#328Fun(Jam)3.07
#355Humor(Jam)2.61
#358Overall(Jam)3.23
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#404Graphics(Jam)3.30
#440Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Just letting you know your Web link directs to an exe file.

IndieST says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Graphics and music are great! I hit a dinosaur fossil and died and never got further afterwards... wonder what are in deeper place.

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Enjoyed the music. Was there a bottom to the game or was it infinite?

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

Oh man, this is game is awesome! It just takes too long to really start. The initial calm part is very well done and adds a lot to the atmosphere, but after you've seen it once, you want to die and get right back to try again!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

After four plays the best I got down to was midway through the mantle (5000 left to go?). The music and graphics are great, especially with the changing scenery as you plummit further and further towards the center of the earth.

I have two thoughs on improving the gameplay. First I think there is a bug in firing the weapon, sometimes a shot will make it to the bottom of the screen, and other times the bullet will just disappear part way though the shot. This forced me to just rapid fire in the hopes one of the bullets would hit something. Second it seems the further down you go the harder it is to move around. By the time I got to the mantle, I couldn't steer at all so if something was near me, I was going to hit it. This second bit got very frustrating as I did want to see what happened at the end. I may come back to this after viewing a few other games.

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

music and sounds were nice! it was very hard to dodge the missiles, thats about as far as I got.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Really nice, I love the change in scenery, and the music fits in very well

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

The changing environments were awesome! Got as far as the mantle, but after that the attacking didn't help much. Would've been better if the bullets didn't disappear so soon. But it was fun. The moment when the music starts, that feels so great!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

I think you forgot to say that with S you fall down faster... otherwise, it is impossible to reach the ocean...

Great game by the way, had 500 meters to go, and could not get to the finish line....

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17am

A simple concept, nice graphics, and good audio that all meshes well. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Nice idea. I thought the dinosaur bones was a nice touch. The transition from space to entering the atmosphere was nice.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Congratulations!
Loved the transitions of the music and the feeling of free fall.
Shoot commercial Planes of evil was refreshing ^ ^

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:13am

Couldn't get very far but I like the idea :)

abayb says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:14am

That was really good, although a little hard. Graphics and audio were excellent. The controls felt a little unpolished, but over all a good game.

hirngespinst says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:40pm

this is awesome , great idea, nice graphics and atmosphere. I especially liked the music in the beginning which had a nice creepy 50s ski-fi music touch and how it evolved with the speed of the game to something more modern.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]